On Reserve in O'Leary Library.
In Medieval Women, Henrietta Leyser celebrates the diversity and vitality of English women's lives in the Middle Ages. Rather than picturing them as hiding in the shadows and dismissing them as either victims or slaves, her unique approach presents medieval women as clever, argumentative, influential and visible. Above all, she rescues these women from the deeply unflattering portraits drawn by nineteenth century Victorian historians.
On Reserve in O'Leary.The eleven essays offered in Women, Marriage, and Family in Medieval Christendom reflect the spirit and originality of Father Michael M. Sheehan, for whom the volume was collected. The essays consider three thematic categories that were dominant in most of Sheehan's own scholarly work: the role, position, and contributions of medieval women; the development of Christian marriage, especially in the High Middle Ages; and the secular family with its legal and emotional relationships. A close reading of the papers, particularly those concerned with the themes of marriage and the family, reveal what we can designate as the Sheehan school of social history. The collection expands on several of Sheehan's research areas, and while it shows a considerable interest in medieval England, it does not disregard the Continent. The volume is a worthy tribute to Sheehan and will be of great interest to students of social and legal history, women's history, the development of marriage, and the idea of the family.
On Reserve at O'Leary. Focusing on medieval women with a wide range of occupations and life-styles, the interdisciplinary essays in this collection examine women's activities within the patriarchal structures of the time. Individual essays explore women's challenges to a sexual ideology that confined them strictly to the roles of wives, mothers, and servants. Also included are sections on women and work, cultural production and literacy, and religious life. These essays provide a greater understanding of the ways in which gender has played a part in determining relations of power in Western cultures. This volume makes a vital contribution to the current scholarship about women in the Middle Ages.
Request through ILL.The subject of sexuality in the Middle Ages is examined here in 19 articles written specifically for this handbook. This volume seeks to offer a useful guide to the wealth of material and research that is available yet often overlooked.
Request through Interlibrary Loan, This new collection of essays brings together brand new research on widowhood in medieval and early modern Europe. The volume opens with an introductory chapter by the Editors which looks generally at the conditions and constructions of widowhood in this period. This is followed by a range of essays which illuminate different dimensions of widowhood across Europe - in England, Italy, France, Germany and Spain. A particular attraction of the volume is the attention given to widowers, and the comparisons made between the male and female experience of widowhood. It is an exciting reinterpretation of the subject which will do much to undo the traditional stereotype of the widow. Contributing to the volume are: Jodi Bilinkoff, Giulia Calvi, Sandra Cavallo, Isabelle Chabot, Julia Crick, Amy Erikson, Dagmar Freist, Elizabeth Foyster, Margaret Pelling, Pamela Sharpe,Tim Stretton, Barbara Todd, and Lyndan Warner.
Request through Interlibrary loan.This collection of sources demonstrates the variety of evidence that survives of English women in all walks of life from the time of Edward I to the eve of the Reformation. The sources are introduced by a substantial overview of current thinking about English medieval women below the level ofthe greater aristocracy. In addition, Goldberg explores many of the methodological problems and strengths of particular sources.Individual chapters explore the life-cycle themes of childhood, adolescence, married life, widowhood and old age. The study then moves on to examine such topics as work in town and country, prostitution, the law, recreation and devotion. In every case the reader is exposed to a range of sources, butparticular attention is paid to those sources that reflect actual experience or provide insights into the lives of ordinary women rather than the prescriptive or purely literary texts. A particular feature of this collection is the extensive use of church court depositions that allow the voices ofpeasant women, servant girls, bourgeois wives, or poor widows to be heard across the centuries. The sources are presented in a form designed to be accessible to undergraduates, but of interest to teachers and researchers alike.
Request through Interlibrary loan.An important addition to the literature on the history of the family, this collection of twelve original essays by European and American scholars offers some of the latest research in medieval family roles. Grouped into three broad areas - marriage, children and family ties - the essays examine how family roles were established and played out in a variety of temporal and geographic settings during the Middle Ages.
Request through Interlibrary Loan.This fascinating volume breaks new ground in examining the status and lives of women in Europe during the Middle Ages, offering revealing new insights into the role of women in a wide range of religious, sexual and domestic affairs. As this book amply demonstrates, women were central to the spiritual life of the medieval Church: Jo Ann McNamara writes on the legacy of miracles in the nunneries of Merovingian Gaul, Suzanne Wemple on one of the most important female monasteries in northern Italy, and Phyllis Roberts on the ideal of the virginal life. But the book is equally concerned with the family and relations between men and women. Leah Lydia Otis, for example, looks at the practice of prostitution in late medieval Perpignan; Helen Rodnite Lemay discusses medieval gynecology; and Julius Kirshner provides a revolutionary study of wives' claims against insolvent husbands, challenging the notion that the legal rights of women deteriorated in late medieval Italy.