UMass Lowell Library Resources for Graduate Students

How Does the UMass Lowell Library Support All Scholarly Research?

The UMass Lowell Library subscribes to two main search engines for searching scholarly articles and books. One is Worldcat-WMS (search CATALOG) the other is EBSCO Discovery Service (search ARTICLE QUICK SEARCH).

OCLC is a global library cooperative that provides shared technology services, original research and community programs for its membership and the library community at large. It consists of  librarians, technologists, researchers, pioneers, leaders and learners. With thousands of library members in more than 100 countries, OCLC makes information more accessible and more useful.  Our Worldat-WMS catalog contains 130 million unique book titles, 300 million item titles, and 3 billion copies. If you need a concordance, or word-by-word index, Google Books has scanned and indexed approximately 30 million books, comprising the bulk of titles at the world's major research libraries.  
EBSCO is a large corporation which provides databases and information technology.  EBSCO Information Services is part of the information technology community, dedicated to developing customizable services, supporting the technology needs of customers and creating strong user experiences to help libraries and other institutions support their end users and improve access to information.  The EBSCO EDS Index contains 600 million articles.


Scholarly search can be broken down in to two parts: indexes and discovery. Discovery consists of the answers to the following questions: what is the title of an article,who wrote it, where was it published and when. 


The other major index is Google Scholar. Google Scholar crawls the domain .edu, and gets permissions from journal databases to include their content. Both of these indexes can be used for discovery as well. Google Scholar indexes contains 160 million articles.

The primary filtering tool in Google Scholar is weight, or usage. This is determined by citation counts, which is an indicator of how the topic has been investigated and reported on. It is an indicator of how the article is placed, that is, how many have used it in their research. The Google Scholar citation count is broader than Scopus. 

Capturing citations out of Google Scholar is a simple operation, including capturing to Zotero. It is possible to batch capture citations from Google Scholar to Endnote and most citation management software.

What is WorldCat?

WorldCat is the product of the creativity and innovation of the staff of OCLC and thousands of librarians. Unique in scale and unparalleled in data quality, WorldCat makes library collections findable and accessible around the world.

OCLC’s team of expert catalogers and data quality specialists constantly enrich WorldCat records with new and corrected information to ensure that WorldCat contains the highest quality records possible. Library staff members also enhance records through the OCLC Cataloging and Metadata Subscription (previously the OCLC Cataloging Subscription), making these records the industry standard for quality.

Worldcat enables libraries to share high-quality library metadata and bibliographic records with each other. ‚ÄčPartner content providers add records to WorldCat—sometimes before a resource is published—so library users can find the information they need as soon as it’s available.