UMass Journal Study and E&E Project

EResource Review Process Model Final Draft 11/22/2016

The following model is proposed for continuing resources assessment projects that support data-driven decision making. This has been extracted from the Subscription Review Model section of the CATF draft final report. The full report is due Dec. 31, 2016. IRM plans to test this review process for ScienceDirect and Springer package renewals that are due to expire Dec. 31, 2017. (process begins early Spring 2017).

Overall recommendation for UMass model: This model is to be used for large-scale subscription package reviews. Portions of this model may be extracted to develop more succinct models for smaller-scale reviews.

● Determine package to review. (Library Collections Administration)

o License review:

▪ What is included in the package?

▪ When does the license expire?

▪ How much notification does the publisher/vendor require for changes to the license and/or licensed material? o What is the budget?

▪ How does this package fit into the overall collections budget?

▪ How much of the budget can be allocated for this renewal?

▪ Can we enter into a multi-year agreement?

● How much of an increase can we sustain over the life of a new multi-year agreement?

▪ Do we need to negotiate a decrease?

▪ If a decrease cannot be negotiated, what is our plan B

o Communicate review needs to Dean of Libraries and to establish groups and committees.

o Form Groups:

▪ Form Steering Committee

● This will be library and campus leadership who are identified as key stakeholders for the package under review.

▪ Form Collections Data Group

● This group will focus on data collection and analysis.

▪ Form Acquisitions Group

● This group will include staff knowledgeable about license terms and electronic resource workflows.

● Set goals and establish timelines. (Steering Committee)

o Financial goal as determined during package review.

o Data analysis goals. Input will be required from Collections Data Group.

▪ COUNTER statistics (downloads) JR1 or JR5

● Determine a minimum acceptable annual download rate.

o Low use: below 9

o Moderate use: 10-99

o High use: 100-999

o Heavy use: 1000+

▪ Citation analysis.

● Determine a minimum acceptable citation rate.

▪ Teaching and research needs.

● Minimums determined when developing survey.

o Timeline. Determine how much time is needed for:

▪ Communication plan.

▪ Surveys.

▪ Data analysis.

▪ Publisher notification.

▪ Cancellation process (if needed).

● Develop a communication plan. (Steering Committee)

o Determine all stakeholders who need to be involved and create a plan for buy-in. ▪ Involve Library Development & Communications as needed.

o Develop a plan to meet with schools/colleges/departments. o Develop a plan to get Faculty Senate Committee input (Research Council, Research Library Council, and Graduate Council).

o Determine survey requirements. ▪ Develop survey.

● Establish a target number of priority titles for teaching and research.

o Up to 10

● Establish a target number of essential titles for discipline.

o Up to 5

o Communication plan to run concurrent with rest of process.

● Gather data. (Collections Data Group)

o Distribute survey to key stakeholders as determined by review group. o Gather COUNTER JR1 statistics for 3 previous calendar years.

o Conduct citation analysis of where our faculty is publishing.

o Create local database of data & compile data into Tableau view for analysis.

● Data analysis: (Collections Data Group) o Determine essential, teaching and research title lists from survey results.

o Determine usage patterns through COUNTER analysis. o Determine highly cited journals from citation analysis.

o Combine results to develop a list of most needed journals.

▪ Determine costs if package is broken apart.

▪ Determine if most needed journals list needs to be adjusted to meet financial goals. ▪ Provide as many options as possible.

▪ Send results to Steering Committee.

● Results: (Steering Committee)

o Review results of data analysis.

o Make recommendations on how to proceed with the package renewal.

● Complete process: (Acquisitions Group)

o Communicate intentions to vendors.

o Review, adjust and implement cancellation workflows as needed.