Beyond Scopus & Web of Science

Domain

Within the UMass Lowell domain of Article Quick Search, or EDS, the discovery component of your search will take you to the databases pertinent to your topic. If you are conducting a Literature Review on mobile diagnostic interventions for tuberculosis for instance, this would take you to Pubmed, a database UMass Lowell subscribes to.

A simple way to evaluate the importance of articles retrieved in a Google Scholar search is to note the citation count. There are other sources of information on journal weight, known as impact factors, such as Scimago, or Eigenfactor. Click to learn more about Journal Impact Ranking 

Specialty Indexes

There are additional specialty indexes in various domains for searching in subjects. One factor in searching Pubmed and specialty Indexes is awareness of MeSH; a special language for searching medical databases. MeSH refers to natural versus controlled vocabulary. It is the invention of the National Medical Library, and used for searching  biomedical information such as MEDLINE/PUBmed and other NLM databases.

Discovery

The first step when finding results in Google Books is to paste the title in to the UML Library's advanced search box. UML may own the book; if not the library can get it within 24 hours via Interlibrary Loan.

The same is true of articles listed in Google Scholar. If they are not available in full-text, and the Library does not already subscribe to them, request them through Interlibrary Loan.

More on Journal Impact Ranking

A great deal of thought and many attempts to create formulae have gone in to the subject of Journal impact and ranking. In the era of predatory journal practices, when the definition of peer-reviewed is all but meaningless, how do scholars know what research has value?

Author-level Metrics

(From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia)
 
Author-level metrics are citation metrics that measure the bibliometric impact of individual authors, researchers, academics, and scholars. A prime example is the h-index. Other metrics originally developed for academic journals can be reported at researcher level, such as the author-level eigenfactor and the author impact factor. (For a definition of Eigenfactor, see here.)

The h-index is an author-level metric that attempts to measure both the productivity and citation impact of the publications of a scientist or scholar. The index is based on the set of the scientist's most cited papers and the number of citations that they have received in other publications. The index can also be applied to the productivity and impact of a scholarly journal as well as a group of scientists, such as a department or university or country. The index was suggested in 2005 by Jorge E. Hirsch, a physicist at UCSD, as a tool for determining theoretical physicists' relative quality and is sometimes called the Hirsch index or Hirsch number.