Beyond Scopus & Web of Science

image

text 1

Why You Do NOT Need Scopus

Scopus is a bibliographic database containing abstracts and citations for academic journal articles. It covers nearly 22,000 titles from over 5,000 publishers, of which 20,000 are peer-reviewed journals in the scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences (including arts and humanities).

Sounds perfect right? But guess what. Access to that information will cost you $65,000, which goes in to the pockets of Elsevier. But do not despair. Every single item the Scopus database contains can be yours for free if you follow a few simple steps.

What You Can Do

Scholarly search can be broken down in to two parts: indexes and discovery. Indexes are essentially lists. Discovery means actually getting the articles you need. Everything in Scopus and Web of Science is included in the UML Library's index, EDS. All of the journals in the Scopus database allow their information to be crawled by EDS. Any article is available from Interlibrary Loan.

The other major index which searches the Scopus and Wof S content, and beyond, is Google Scholar. Google Scholar crawls the domain .edu, and gets permissions from journal databases to include their content.

Both of these indexes can be used for discovery as well. Discovery means who, where and what published the article you are interested in. How do you discover reliably who, where and what was published on the topic. The primary filtering tool in Google Scholar is weight, or usage. This is determined by citation counts, which is an indicator of how the topic has been investigated and reported on. It is an indicator of how the article is placed, that is, how many have used it in their research. The Google Scholar citation count is more powerful than Scopus or Web of Science.

Capturing citations out of Google Scholar is a simple operation, including capturing to Zotero. It is possible to batch capture citation from Google Scholar to Endnote and most citation management software.

 

Example

The IEEE provides SCOPUS with all of the IEEE Xplore digital library content so that the bibliographic information (what is seen on an abstract page in IEEE Xplore, including the abstract) can be made visible. While IEEE does provide them with all of our content, it is not their policy to determine what Scopus will or will not index.

However, you can access the IEEE Xplore database directly through the UML Library. You must be logged in to the Library to use the database.