The Gulbenkian Collection

UMass Lowell Library Receives Grant

After Portuguese Professor Frank Sousa, director of the Saab Center for Portuguese Studiesand FAHSS Dean Luis Falcón, made  a trip to Portugal last year, the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation awarded nearly $50,000 for a Portuguese library collection. This gift, along with two smaller gifts of books from the governments of Portugal and the Autonomous Region of the Azores, is important because the Department of World Cultures and Languages is working toward offering a minor in Portuguese and then a major.

Award of Funds Establishes First of Special Collections at the Library

 The funding will be used exclusively for the purchase of bibliographic resources specialized in Portuguese themes such as Language, History, and Culture. The award reinforces the other aspects of our Special Collections initiative, as we also add e-books and archival materials in Portuguese Studies. The generous award from the Calouste Gulbenkian will ensure that Portuguese Studies is not only the first, but will always be among the strongest, of our Special Collections.

The items purchased with Gulbenkian Foundation funds will display a bookplate indicating their origin. Librarian Ellen Keane, head of Access and Technical Services at UML Libraries has added a donor note in the catalog as well as additional discovery functionality to each item as a useful enhancement for researchers. One of the difficulties for special collections in an online catalog is the inability to see the scope of the collection. However due to the special tagging the items purchased with Gulbenkian funds can be found at this linkThe tagging and lists are not just local at UML, but will be in Worldcat for researchers globally. 

Established in 1956 as a Portuguese foundation for the whole of humanity, the Foundation’s original purpose focused on fostering knowledge and raising the quality of life of persons throughout the fields of the arts, charity, science and education. Bequeathed by the last will and testament of Calouste Sarkis Gulbenkian, the Foundation is of perpetual duration and undertakes its activities structured around its headquarters in Lisbon (Portugal) and its delegations in Paris (France) and London (the United Kingdom).