African American Literature


Used by permission, Givens Collection
University of Minnesota

Well designed, easy to navigate site based on a timeline, from 1517 to the present. Plenty of graphics and photographs.

A general portal to a large number of links, easy to navigate, lots of topics. Good for general interest.

Comprehensive site organized around a chronological listing of Black historical facts.

Portrait of Frederick Douglass by Billy Hathorn in National Portrait Gallery

Umbra is similar to the Digital Public Library of America in that it brings together over 400,000 objects documenting African American history and culture from repositories across the country -- from large institutions like Library of Congress to smaller organizations like Payne Theological Seminary, a historically black seminary.

Search Umbra from the search box below.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Easy to use collection of material including full texts of key historical documents, biographical sketches, and short articles on historical events.

This website has a biography and full text writings of five major Afrocentric scholars: Yosef ben Jochannan, John Henrik Clarke, John Jackson, Leonard Jeffries, and Runoko Rashidi

List is from 18 BEST HISTORY SITES
Alkalimat, Abdul. African American Experience in Cyberspace : A Resource Guide to the Best Web Sites on Black Culture and History. London, GB: Pluto Press, 2003. ProQuest ebrary. Web. 12 August 2016.
Copyright © 2003. Pluto Press. All rights reserved. 

Also Consider

Alkalimat, Abdul. African American Experience in Cyberspace : A Resource Guide to the Best Web Sites on Black Culture and History. London, GB: Pluto Press, 2003. ProQuest ebrary. Web. 12 August 2016.
Copyright © 2003. Pluto Press. All rights reserved. 

The Schomburg Center is located in Harlem, New York. Howard Dodson is the Director and its most active researcher. This is the preeminent public library research institution specializing in the Black experience.

 Digital Schomburg: African American Women Writers of the 19th Century is a digital collection of some 52 published works by 19th century black women writers. A part of the Digital Schomburg, this collection provides access to the thought, perspectives and creative abilities of black women as captured in books and pamphlets published prior to 1920. A full text database of these 19th and early 20th century titles, this digital library is keyword-searchable. Each individual title as well as the entire database can be searched to determine what these women had to say about “family,” “religion,” “slavery,” or any other subject of interest to the researcher or casual reader. The Schomburg Center is pleased to make this historic resource available to the public.

Images of African Americans from the 19th Century: This is a collection of images selected to accompany the African American Women Writers of the 19th Century website. The photographs and drawings are organized in the following categories: civil war, culture, education, family, labor, politics, portraits, reconstruction, religion, slavery, and social life. Finding Aids: This is unique material for the serious student of African American History. This site contains 96 finding aids to collections held at the Schomburg Center. These collections cover 278 years from 1724 to 2002.