JSTOR Database

What is Jstor?

JSTOR (pronounced jay-stor; short for "journal storage") is a digital library founded in 1995. Originally containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines, including books, primary sources, and current issues of journals. 

JSTOR is a highly selective digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources.

Full runs of more than 2,600 top scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR works with a diverse group of nearly 1,200 publishers from more than 57 countries to preserve and make their content digitally available.

 UMass Lowell Library subscribes to Jstor for the use of faculty, students and staff.

What is in Jstor?

Jstor's Arts & Sciences XV adds many titles not offered in JSTOR collections before. This collection will have more than 150 titles by 2018, with more than 50 available now.
Arts & Sciences XV has extensive coverage in the humanities, social sciences and sciences, including literature, film, art, music, religion, classical studies, history, education, economics, political science, and sociology.  
Some titles are drawn from recent discipline-specific collections that were not a part of the earlier Arts & Sciences collections--20 titles newly added to the  Mathematics & Statistics collection, and 21 titles from the Jewish Studies collection. 

Notable Titles 

Journal of the History of Medicine and Allied Sciences
Historian
Philosophia Reformata
Journal of Mind and Behavior
Pi Mu Epsilon Journal
Statistica Sinica
Studia Rosenthaliana

Video Demo "Searching Jstor"

If you cannot access the above video, you can watch it here here.