Transportation & the Rise of Mass Tourism: Travel Literature

Special Topics: Travel Literature        
Online, Fall 2016
Prof.Hurwitz

Unit 1

Date

Work Due This Week                           

  Unit One: Travel and Literature from the 13th to the 20th Century
Week 1
9/1-9/4
Introduction
Write: Respond to week 1 action prompt: icebreaker

 

Week 2
9/5-9/11

Medieval Travel and the Age of Exploration 

Read: Week 2 Class Notes, The Travels of Marco Polo Prologue (PDF), The Travels of Sir John Mandeville “The Prologue” & Chapter X “Of the Pilgrimages,” and “Christopher Columbus Report on His First Voyage” (PDF)

Write: Respond to Week 2 Interaction Prompt(s) 

 Week 3 9/12-9/18

The Grand Tour and the Romantics 

Read: Week 3 Class Notes, “Three Views of the Grand Tour”; Lord Byron’s Childe Harold’s Pilgrimage stanzas I-XIII (in “Canto the First”); Mary Wollstonecraft’s Letters Written in Sweden, Norway, and Denmark Letters II, III, IV, XIX, & Appendix; and William Wordsworth’s “Lines Composed a Few Miles above Tintern Abbey,” “Composed upon Westminster Bridge,” and “I Travelled among Unknown Men”

Write: Respond to Week 3 Interaction Prompt(s) 

Week 4
9/19-9/25

Travel in the 19th Century and Empire: Adventure, Power, and Identity 

Read: Week 4 Class Notes, Sir Richard Francis Burton’s A Personal Narrative of a Pilgrimage to El-Medinah and Meccah (PDF), Isabella Bird’s A Lady’s Life in the Rocky Mountains (PDF), Sir Henry Morton Stanley’s Through the Dark Continent (PDF), Anthony Froude’s The English in the West Indies (PDF), and John Jacob Thomas’s Froudacity (PDF)

Write: Respond to Week 4 Interaction Prompt(s) 

Week 5
9/26-10/2

Modernism and Travel 

Choose primary literary text to read beyond the syllabus DUE Sunday

Read: Week 5 Class Notes, Virginia Woolf’s “A Dialogue upon Mount Pentelicus,” (PDF) Ernest Hemingway’s “The Snows of Kilimanjaro,” and E.M. Forster’s “The Other Boat” (PDF)

Write: Respond to Week 5 Interaction Prompt(s) 

 

by John Mandeville, Sir.
  eBook : Document : Biography View all formats and languages »
Language: English  
Publisher: Champaign, Ill. : Project Gutenberg, [199-?]
Database: WorldCat
Libraries that own this item: UMass Lowell Libraries
 
by Marco Polo; R E Latham
Language: English  
Publisher: [Harmondsworth, Middlesex] Penguin Books [1958]
Database: WorldCat
Libraries that own this item: UMass Lowell Libraries
by George Gordon Byron, Baron
  eBook : Document : Fiction View all formats and languages »
Language: English  
Publisher: [Auckland, New Zealand] : Floating Press, 1818. ©2009
Database: WorldCat
Libraries that own this item: UMass Lowell Libraries
 
by Charles Dickens
Language: English  
Publisher: London, New York, Oxford University Press, 1957.
Database: WorldCat
Libraries that own this item: UMass Lowell Libraries

Additional Reading

by Hake, Sabine, 1956-; Crew, David F., 1946-; Holt, Lee Wallace, 1974-
  Downloadable archival material
Language: English  
Publisher: 2008-08-29T00:17:51Z 2008-08-29T00:17:51Z 2008-05 2008-08-29T00:17:51Z
Database: WorldCat
Libraries that own this item: WorldCat Libraries
 
Book review: 'The making of modern tourism: the cultural history of the British experience, 1600-2000', edited by Hartmut Berghoff, Barbara Korte, Ralf Schneider and Christopher Harvie
by O'Mahony, G. B.
  Downloadable archival material
Language: English  
Publisher: Cognizant Communication Corporation 2004
Database: WorldCat
Libraries that own this item: WorldCat Libraries
 
by Schut, Pierre-Olaf
  Downloadable archival material
Language: English  
Publication: The International Journal of the History of Sport
Database: WorldCat
Libraries that own this item: WorldCat Libraries
 
by Schmutz, Hélène
  Downloadable archival material
Language: English  
Publication: Première Université d'Hiver Internationale du Labex ITEM
Database: WorldCat
Libraries that own this item: WorldCat Libraries
 
by Elleke Boehmer;
Language: English  
Publisher: Oxford [England] ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1998.
Database: WorldCat
Libraries that own this item: Massachusetts Libraries
 
by John H White; George M Smerk
Language: English  
Publisher: Bloomington : Indiana University Press, ©2013.
Database: WorldCat
Libraries that own this item: UMass Lowell Libraries
 
by Seymour Dunbar
Language: English  
Publisher: New York, Greenwood Press, 1968 [©1915]
Database: WorldCat
Libraries that own this item: UMass Lowell Libraries