Databases: Philosophy

Philosophy Websites

History of Philosophy Without any Gaps An excellent website hosting audio lectures and interviews on a vast variety of topics in philosophy. Peter Adamson, Professor of Philosophy at the LMU in Munich and at King's College London, takes listeners through the history of philosophy, "without any gaps." The series looks at the ideas, lives and historical context of the major philosophers as well as lesser known figures.

Aeon: Philosophy A very engaging website presenting essays on current topics in philosophy and ethics. 

Stanford Encycopedia of Philosophy  From Stanford University. The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.

What is Philosophy The basics of philosophical schools and philosophers.

Internet Encyclopedia of PhilosophyA Peered reviewed online encyclopedia.

PhilSci​​: Maintained by the University of Pittsburgh, this is a collection of works in philosophy, free for anyone to use.

David Chalmers' WebsiteChalmers is a philosopher at New York University and co-directs the PhilPapers website.

Philosophy PapersThe International Directory of Online Philosophy Papers

Erratic Impact (site has ads) Erratic Impact's Philosophy Research Base is categorized by history, subject and author. Integrating text resources with the best online resources, this study guide attempts to aid both academic and general interest in all philosophical genres and their related fields.

Lander's Philosophy Search

Philosophy Links

Digital Locke ProjectThis website brings together a scholarly text edition of many of John Locke's works. Get started by clicking on the "Texts" button to find the text of his works, along with an "About" area that gives some background material on each work.

The American Philosophical Association The American Philosophical Association promotes the discipline and profession of philosophy, both within the academy and in the public arena. The APA supports the professional development of philosophers at all levels and works to foster greater understanding and appreciation of the value of philosophical inquiry.

Top Documentary films: Philosophy Site hosts films on many topics including philosophy. Some are short intros and must purchased, but a good percentage are full length.

WiPhi: Open Access Philosophy hosts videos covering topics in philosophy presented by professors from a variety of colleges and universities.Wi-Phi's mission is to introduce people to the practice of philosophy by making videos that are freely available in a form that is entertaining, interesting and accessible to people with no background in the subject.

The Sophia Project Founded in 1999 by college educators, the Sophia Project is an online collection of original articles, primary source texts, and commentaries in the fields of philosophy and ethics designed to provide the newcomer to the discipline of philosophy with the resources necessary to read great philosophical works.


Applied Ethics

Bioethics Links

Ethics Connection

Harvard Center for EthicsProvides access to working papers and reports on ethical issues.

Ethics Ctr. for Engineering & Researchthis website is a tool for learning about the ethical dilemmas engineers face in areas such as emerging technologies, environment, safety & sustainability, & responsible research. Learn about various ethical dilemmas via the site's collection of "Cases", "Essays & Articles", "Instructional Resources",& "Other Resources". The "Cases" link contains a collection of historical, hypothetical, & fictionalized cases, numerical problems, & scenarios. Cases that address a killer robot, reverse engineering