How to use Ebscohost

Reading An Article

When you click the title of an article, the "Best View" selected by your library administrator is displayed. To view a different format, click on the Detailed Record, HTML full text or PDF icon.

Once you click the article you are presented with a screen similar to this one:

'

Here you can view full text, search by author, subjects, view the detailed record and perform a variety of functions using the tools menu listed below.

Tools Menu

Tools Menu

When viewing an article, there are several tools available to you on the right-hand side of the screen.

  • Folder Icon Add to folder - Add the article to the session folder or your personal My EBSCOhost folder.
  • Print Icon Print - Print the article.
  • E-mail Icon E-mail - E-mail the article to yourself or multiple e-mail addresses.
  • Save Icon Save - Save the article to a destination on your computer.
  • Cite Icon Cite - Retrieve citation information for the article in several different formats. 
  • Export Icon Export - Export the article to your bibliographic management software. 
  • Note Icon Create Note - Save a note on the article to your My EBSCOhost folder.
  • Permalink Icon Permalink - Copy and paste a persistent link to the article. 
  • Bookmark Icon Share - Bookmark the article to one of many to social bookmarking sites such as dig, del.icio.us, Tumblr, Facebook, Twitter Technorati, bloglines, etc 
  • Listen Icon Listen - Hear the HTML Full Text of an article read to you using Text-to-Speech. (If enabled by your administrator.)
  • Translate Icon Translate - Translate the HTML Full Text of the article to one of many available languages. (If enabled by your administrator.)

When you have a personal My EBSCOhost account, you have your own personal area (folder) to collect and store information across sessions. All the items you save to your personal folder remain in your folder until you remove them. Only you can access your My EBSCOhost folder. Search for the information that you want to save in your folder. You can save all types of search results to your folder. (For example, articles, links to searches, images, etc.)

Add the items to your folder in any of the following ways:

  • Add one item – Click the folder icon Add to Folder icon located to the right of the article title. This adds only the single selected item to your folder. If you have custom folders in your account, select a folder to add the article to.

  • Add all the items on the page – Click the Share link and then click Results (1–10) link at the top of the menu. This adds all items listed on the page to your folder.

  • From the Detailed Record, you can add one item. Click the Add to Folder link at the top of the tools menu. This adds only this single item to your folder.

1. From the article, click Print.

 Print Manager Screen

The Printing panel is displayed at the top of the article.

2. Accept the defaults and click Print. Click OK to begin printing. To return to the article or citation, click Back.

Advanced Features:

  • If you are in the folder, Remove these items from folder after printing appears. Indicate whether you want to empty the folder of all items after printing.

  •  Include when printing - If you do not make any selections in this area, the defaults will apply. The Detailed Citation and Abstract (plus any available HTML Full Text) will be printed.

  • HTML Full Text (when available) – Indicate whether the HTML Full Text of the article (if available) should be included.

  • Current Search History (when available) – Indicate whether the current search history should be printed with your Result List Items. (Note: It is possible that the current search history and the Result List Items may not match. If your folder contains items from a previous session, or if you’ve edited or cleared search history without clearing your folder, you may receive both current search history and earlier folder results.)

  • Standard Field Format - Most users will choose the default - "Detailed Citation and Abstract." You can also select from the drop-down list:

    • Brief Citation – Indicates that only a brief citation should be printed.
    • Brief Citation and Abstract – Indicates that a brief citation and an abstract should be printed.
    • Detailed Citation and Abstract – Indicates that a detailed citation and an abstract should be printed.
       
  • Customized Field Format - If you want to select which fields are included with your results, see Custom Fields for Print/E-mail/Save.

Note: If your library administrator has provided the ability to translate an article, you must print the translated article directly from your browser window.

To print PDF Full Text:

To print an item in PDF Full Text format, you must use the Adobe Reader Print option. When viewing the PDF document in your browser window, the Adobe Print option (a printer icon) is included on the Adobe Reader toolbar located above the article. Note that if the item includes a citation and/or HTML text, they will print from the browser window.

To print Linked Full Text:

  • If you are printing an article that includes Linked Full Text, you must follow the links directly to the Full Text and then print.
  • If the article includes a citation and/or HTML Full Text, they will print from the browser window, but you will still need to follow the links directly to the Full Text and then print.

You can set the defaults for Standard Field Format, Citation Format, E-mail Format, and the default E-mail To address on the Preferences Screen. The selections that are set on Preferences will be applied when e-mailing.

To e-mail an article:

1. From the article, click E-mail.

E-mail Manager Screen

The E-mailing panel is displayed above the article.

2. Enter the E-mail Address. To send to more than one e-mail address, use a semicolon between each e-mail address. (For example, name1@address.com; name2@address2.com).

Advanced Features:

  • Subject - enter a subject to appear on the e-mail subject line.
  • Comments - enter any comments you would like to include with your e-mail.
  • Format – Select whether you want to send the e-mail in Rich Text or Plain Text format.
  • Standard Field Format - Most users will choose the default - "Detailed Citation and Abstract." You can also select from the drop-down list:
    • Brief Citation – Indicates that only a brief citation should be e-mailed.
    • Brief Citation and Abstract – Indicates that a brief citation and an abstract should be e-mailed.
    • Detailed Citation and Abstract – Indicates that a detailed citation and abstract should be e-mailed.
  • Citation Format - If you would like to save your citations in a specific format, select one from the drop-down list. 
  • Customized Field Format - Check this box to open a list of output fields. You can choose what you would like to send in the email (ex abstract info, title, source, dates, publishers, etc)

To e-mail Linked Full Text:

If you are e-mailing an article that includes Linked Full Text, you must follow the links directly to the Full Text and then email it. Otherwise, only the citation and any available HTML Full Text will be sent. If you follow the links to the Full Text and it is PDF format, the PDF will be sent as an attachment to the e-mail.

To e-mail persistent links to searches:

Click the Share link at the top of your Result List.

Add Persistent Link to Search to Folder

Click the hyperlinked search terms to the right of Add search to folder. The search query is now saved in the folder as a persistent link to a search.

From the Persistent Links to Searches area of the folder, click the E-mail icon. The Links to Searches area of the E-mail Manager displays.

You can set the defaults for Standard Field Format and Citation Format on the Preferences Screen. The selections that are set on Preferences will be applied when saving.

To save an article:

1. From the article, click Save.

Save Manager Screen 

The Save panel is displayed.

2. To save the results, click Save. Otherwise, click Cancel.

3. From your browser menu, click File>Save As. Enter the path where the file should be saved (for example, C:ProjectResearchInfo). To save to disk, enter the path to the drive (for example, A:ResearchInfo). Be sure to save as an HTML or text file.

Advanced Features:

  • If you are in the folder, Remove these items from folder after saving appears. Indicate whether you want to empty the folder of all items after saving.

  • Include when saving - If you do not make any selections in this area, the defaults will apply. The Detailed Citation and Abstract (plus any available HTML Full Text and HTML links to articles) will be saved.

  • HTML Full Text – Indicate whether the HTML Full Text of the article (if available) should be included.

  • HTML links to articles – Indicate whether HTML links to the articles you have selected should be included. (To save only the persistent links to the articles, clear the Additional citation details and abstract and the HTML Full Text check boxes and be sure to mark the HTML links to articles check box.)

  • Standard Field Format - Most users will choose the default - "Detailed Citation and Abstract." You can also select from the drop-down list:

    • Brief Citation – Indicates that only a brief citation should be saved.
    • Brief Citation and Abstract – Indicates that a brief citation and an abstract should be saved.
    • Detailed Citation and Abstract – Indicates that a detailed citation and an abstract should be saved.
  • Citation Format - If you would like to save your citations in a specific format, select one from the drop-down list.

To save PDF Full Text:

  • If you are saving an item that includes PDF Full Text, the PDF does not automatically save from your browser window. You must open the PDF in Adobe Acrobat Reader, and use the Reader's save capability.

To save Linked Full Text:

  • If you are saving an item that includes Linked Full Text, you must follow the links directly to the Full Text, and then save it.

To copy a persistent link to a search:

1. Click the Share link at the top of your Result List.

2. Highlight the link text in the Permalink box and copy using your browser's copy function. You can immediately paste the link into a web site, document or e-mail.

To save persistent links to searches to the folder:

1. Click the Share link at the top of your Result List.  

2. Click the Add search to folder link. The search query is now saved in the folder as a persistent link to a search.

3. From the persistent links to searches area of the folder, click Save to Disk. The Links to Searches area of the Save Manager displays.

Important note: There are many styles and forms used to cite the sources supporting your research. Data used to cite electronic sources is not yet standardized therefore researchers should review citations carefully. For more detailed information, see the links below to view citation formatting and examples for the various citation styles listed.

In addition, consult your institution's reference librarian (if available) for more clarification on the citation style and formatting you should use. Students are encouraged to check with their instructors as most academic institutions have standardized requirements.

Some of the most widely used styles of citation are:

Whatever style you choose, accuracy, clarity, and consistency are the most important factors when citing information sources.

From the Export Manager, you can save or e-mail citations in a format compatible with your bibliographic management software.

To save citations in bibliographic manager format:

1. From the open result or from the folder, click Export. The Export Manager panel appears.

Export - Save

If you are in the folder, Remove these items from folder after saving appears. Indicate whether you want to empty the folder of all items after saving your file.

2. Save citations to a file formatted for: select one of the following: 

  • Direct Export in RIS Format (e.g. CITAVI, EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager, Zotero) - includes those fields supported by reference managers that utilize Research Information Systems (RIS) format for bibliographic management. (This would be useful if you are at a remote location and have bibliographic management software such as ProCite® or EndNote® on your home or office computer. You could save your citations at a school or public library and import them into your citation library at home.)

  • Generic bibliographic management software - includes all fields available with a citation.

  • Citations in XML format - includes all fields in XML format. Click here to view a Document Type Definition file for a description of each of the XML tags.

  • Citations in BibTeX format - includes citation fields in BibTeX format.

  • Citations in MARC21 format - includes citation fields in MARC21 format.

  • Direct Export to RefWorks - exports citations directly to RefWorks web-based bibliographic management software. (Your library must have a subscription to RefWorks to use this option. You must also set your browser to accept pop-ups.)

  • Direct Export to EndNote Web - includes those fields supported by ISI's Direct Export technology for exporting to EndNote Web.

  • Direct Export to EasyBib - export citations directly to EasyBib bibliographic management software.

3. Click Save.

  • If you saved your citations in a format that can be uploaded to bibliographic management software, the articles and citations are displayed in your browser window. Save from your browser window. Be sure to enter the path where the file should be saved (for example, C:ProjectResearchInfo). To save to a floppy disk, enter the path to the floppy drive (for example, A:ResearchInfo). Be sure to save as an HTML or text file. Click Save.

  • If you saved in Direct Export format and bibliographic management software (such as ProCite® or EndNote® ) is installed on your computer, that software should automatically open. You should be able to indicate whether to add the citations in the export.txt file to a new or existing citation library.

To e-mail citations in bibliographic manager format: 

1. From the open result or from the folder, click Export. The Export Manager panel appears.

Export - Email

2. Click the E-mail link at the top of the Export Manger panel.

3. If you are in the folder, the Remove these items from folder after e-mailing option is displayed. Indicate whether you want to empty the folder of all saved items after e-mailing your file.

4. Enter the E-mail Address. To send to more than one e-mail address, use a semicolon between each e-mail address. (For example, name1@address.com; name2@address2.com). Add a subject and any comments.

5. E-mail a file with citations in - select a citation format from the ones listed above. Press Send.

The Notetaking feature assists with your research by allowing you to take notes on articles and save them to your My EBSCOhost folder for later viewing.

To use the Notetaking feature:

1. From the citation page, HTML Full Text, or PDF Full Text on which you would like to leave a note, click on the Create Note Notes Icon icon in the tools menu on the right.

Article Details - Notes Icon

2. Click the +New Note button.

New Note Button

3. The Create Note window appears. The article citation information will appear in the Context area.

4. Enter the text of your note in the field provided. When finished entering your note, click the Save button.

Create Note Window

5. The Note is saved to the folder and is displayed in the Notes panel. Click Sign in to store notes to save your notes or click the Folder Notes View link to view your notes in the folder.

Folder has Notes area

6. From inside the EBSCOhost folder, your note is available by clicking Notes in the menu on the left side. To save your note beyond this session, sign in to your My EBSCOhost folder.

Folder View - Notes Section

7. To view your Note, click the Note title in the folder. You can view the page on which the note was taken by clicking the View Context link.

Loading