Biomedical Engineering

Engineering Alerting Services

TIP

If you receive your results via email, the link may not work when you are off-campus.  For access to the full article from your email when you are not on campus go to the library homepage, http://wlibrary.uml.edu, and click on Off-Campus Users Start Here, and sign in with your email address.  To access full text once you have signed in, copy the link from the email into the library homepage.

Alerting Services

Alerting Services allow you to keep up to date with the latest research and literature in your field of study.  Most of the databases to which the library subscribes provides these services as do most journal publishers and even certain websites. Types of these Alerts include:

  • Table of Contents Alerts (TOC) - The Table of Contents of selected journals are sent to you by email.
  • Saved Search Alerts (SSA) - A Saved Search Alert is based on a previous database search.  The search is run at specified intervals, usually weekly, and you are alerted if any news articles based on your search have been published.
  • Citation Alerts (CA) - A Citation Alert notifies you by email when an article of interest is referenced or cited by another article.
  • New Publications Alert (NPA) - Notifies the user of new publications (not journal issues) available from the publisher or organization.
  • RSS Feeds is another way to receive information on updates or changes for journals or websites.  Go to RSS Feeds tab for more information.

For most alert services you must register with a password and establish a profile or personal account; for others you simply provide your email address.  Some alert services limit the number of searches you can save.  In many databases you can define how often a search is run.

Access Journal TOCs

1. Search the UML e-journal portal - This will link you to the UML database that indexes the journal.

2. Search ticTOCs - This site enables multiple journal TOC to be uploaded to an RSS reader as a group.

3. Search Google for the journal - If all else fails, go direct.  Most journal websites will let you set up a TOC.

What is RSS

RSS is an XML-based format for sharing and distributing web content.  An RSS reader enables you to view information from multiple web sites in a single interface.  When you "subscribe" to an RSS feed, your reader will check a designated web site on a regular basis showing you any new content.  RSS can help keep you up with research by:

  • viewing table of contents from new journal issues
  • discovering new journal articles on specific topic (from multiple journals)
  • finding out about new patents in specific technology areas
  • viewing news on general topics such as science, technology, business, health, etc. from New York Times, BBC, etc.
  • finding out if a specific topic is being discussed on blogs

Finding RSS feeds

Look for an orange icon rss icon or for buttons labeled XML or RSS.

  1. Search the UML e-journal portal - This will link you to the UML database that indexes the journal.
     
  2. Search ticTOCs - This site enables multiple journal TOC to be uploaded to an RSS reader as a group.
     
  3. Search Google for the journal - Go direct. Most journal websites will let you set up an RSS TOC and Search Alert.
     
  4. You can also locate journal RSS feeds by using Ulrich's Periodical Directory
  • Use the Advanced Search - be sure to check the box to limit your search to journals with RSS Available.
  • Select the journal title.
  • Click on the Abstracting/Indexing & Article Access tab to see the URL for the feed(s) for that journal.

RSS readers

A number of web-based RSS readers are available as client-based software programs that reside on your computer.


web-based examples: Bloglines, Google Reader, My Yahoo

client-based examples: NewsGator and FeedDemon, SharpReader, NetNewsWire (Mac)

For other examples: Google Directory: News Readers and CNET Reviews: RSS Readers


In addition to the web-based and client based readers, some web browsers have incorporated RSS as a plugin. For instance, the Firefox browser allows you to incorporate RSS feeds right into live bookmarks.

Differences between RSS & Email TOC/Alert Services

RSS feeds

Email alerts

Login/registration with content provider

Subscribing to feeds is anonymous.

An account must set up with each content site ….multiple logins to deal with and some lack of privacy.

Segregate or integrate

Segregates alerts rather than getting buried in all your emails.

Integrates your alerts with your email so there is only one interface to check.

Managing news

News items are automatically deleted once they are read.

Every e-mail item has to be manually deleted/filed.

Interface

Presentation of content is very customizable.

Email comes in standard format; can sometimes choose what parts of content is sent.

Availability

RSS is very common.

Mostly only available from database & publisher sites; You can convert RSS feeds to email if that is your preferred format

 

.