Digital & Media Services

Search the Catalog

Advanced Search

Atomic Learning

ATOMIC LEARNING

Interested in learning more about Final Cut, Phototshop, or Dreamweaver? All you need is a valid UML email address and password.

 

Online Image Sources

Antarctic Photo Library

  • Thousands of photos are available (complete with captions, credits and resolutions) for you to view and use, including people, scenery, arctic research stations, and historical photos. 

AP Images

  • Images provided by the Associated Press.  Make sure the image is royalty free before using.

British Library Digital Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts

  • A searchable database of some of the western illuminated manuscripts in the British Library. The Catalogue includes descriptions and images of western manuscripts with pictorial and decorative embellishments, from fully painted miniatures to decorated initials.

Digital Images Collections Guide 

  • A curated bibliography of image websites culled primary from the LibGuides Community. List maintained by the American Library Association. Resources with a lock next to it are subscription only.

Getty Museum Open Content

  • Currently, there are more than 10,000 images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute available through the Open Content Program. These include paintings, drawings, manuscripts, photographs, antiquities, sculpture, decorative arts, artists' sketchbooks, watercolors, rare prints from the 16th through the 18th century, and 19th-century architectural drawings of cultural landmarks.

Google Art Project

  • Famous images from museums all over the world including the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Tate Britain, the MFA, Boston, and the J. Paul Getty Museum.

The Famous Artists

  • The Famous Artists is a collection of artwork and artist bios. Nearly all of the artwork is in the public domain - as always, double check media to ensure copyright compliancy.  

From Old Books

  • High resolution scans of images from antiquarian books available for download. 

Hubble Gallery

  • An expansive collection of Hubble Images including planets, stars, nebulae, galaxies, and more. 

Library of Congress

  • The library contains 14 million images. These include photographs, historical prints, posters, cartoons, documentary drawings, fine prints, and architectural and engineering designs. While international in scope, the collections are particularly strong in materials documenting the history of the United States and the lives, interests, and achievements of the American people.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery

  • The NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open online access to hundreds of thousands of images from the original and rare holdings of the library. Spanning a wide range of historical eras, geography, and visual media, NYPL Digital Gallery offers digital images of drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, and more.

Old Book Illustrations

  • Illustrations scanned from old books. Images include wood engravings or woodcuts, etchings and metal engravings.

U.S. History Images

  • A collection of images mostly covering the American Civil war. The primary source material comes from books published from as early as 1842 up to 1922.

U.S. National Archives (on flickr)

WebMuseum, Paris

  • The WebMuseum provides images of famous works of art and includes biographical and historical details about the artwork and the artists. 

WikiMedia Commons

  • Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language. It acts as a common repository for the various projects of the Wikimedia Foundation, but you do not need to belong to one of those projects to use media hosted here.

The World War II Poster Collection

  • The 338 items, primarily World War II-era posters, featured in this site's database were collected and preserved by the Northwestern University Government and Geographic Information and Data Services Department.