Digital & Media Services

Search the Catalog

Advanced Search

Atomic Learning

ATOMIC LEARNING

Interested in learning more about Final Cut, Phototshop, or Dreamweaver? All you need is a valid UML email address and password.

 

Online Video Sources

Academic Earth | Academic Video Lectures

  • Offering free online classes and in-depth online learning. Academic Earth brings courses online so everyone can receive a world-class education from the world's leading scholars without being restricted by physical boundaries offering original thought-provoking videos, designed to spark your intellectual curiosity and start a conversation.

Academic Film Archive of North America 

  • This site offers a list of films on animation, art, business, drama, guidance, science and math.  Most films are from the 1950’s and 60’s and are less than 30 minutes long.

American Memory Collection of Motion Pictures from the Library of Congress

  • Clips on a variety of topics: Coca-cola advertisements 1951-99, Coolidge Era 1921-29, Edison Companies, Factories-Westinghouse 1904, Origin of American Animation 1900-21, Folk Music (Ohio & Erie Canal) 1937-44, McKinley, William and Pan-American Exposition 1901, New York City 1898-1906, Presidential Inaugurations, Ranching Culture (Nevada) 1945-1982, Theodore Roosevelt 1898-1919, San Francisco and the 1906 Earthquake, September 11, 2001 and Public Reactions, Spanish American War 1898-1901, Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment (American Stage) 1870-1920, Work and Leisure 1894-1915

ARKive

  • DIGITAL MEDIA (IMAGES, VIDEOS). Unique collection of thousands of wildlife videos, images, and fact-files, with a special focus on the world's threatened species.

Biography Channel

  • Full episodes and clips available of biography content of individuals both current and from the past. 

C-Span Video Library

  • "The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, almost totaling over 191,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives."

Films On Demand

  • An online subscription for the UMass Lowell Community to over 6000 streaming instructional video titles. Searchable by subject and title, and keyword. 

Folkstreams

  • Provides streaming access to a large collection of documentary films about American folk, or roots, cultures. Includes essays about the traditions and filmmakers, transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites. Site provides simple keyword and advanced searching, as well as ability to browse by subjects, regions, titles, filmmakers, and other categories. Video displays include links to additional, related films.

Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies

  • From Yale University, 4,400 videotaped interviews with witnesses and survivors of the Holocaust. 

Frontline

  • View complete episodes of a large selection of films from the acclaimed PBS public affairs series.

Hot Docs Library

  • A great source of documentaries by Canadian Filmmakers on all kinds of topics. Supplementary teaching resources are also included.

Internet Archive

  • The Moving Image Archive within the Internet Archive provides access to nearly a quarter million films, uploaded by Archive users, and ranging from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Videos in the Archive are organized into 15 broad sub-categories: Animation and Cartoons, Arts & Music, Computers & Technology, Cultural & Academic Films, Ephemeral Films, Home Movies, Movies, News & Public Affairs, Open Source Movies, Spirituality & Religion, Sports Videos, Video Games, Vlogs, and Youth Media. The Archive also contains the Prelinger Archive, the most complete and varied collection of ephemeral films (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) in existence.

Mike Wallace: The Interviews

  • Video of 65 interviews from the television series hosted by the late Mike Wallace from 1957 and 1958. Provided by the Harry Ransom Center at the University of Texas at Austin. Each program includes a text transcript. Available interviewees include Eleanor Roosevelt, Frank Lloyd Wright, Margaret Sanger, and Salvador Dali among other notables of the time.

MIT Video

  • The MIT Video website — developed and maintained by the MIT News Office — aggregates and curates video produced by the Institute's offices, laboratories, centers and administration. This includes feature and editorial videos, event recordings, academic content and more.

Movieclips

  • Provides more than 12,000 short clips from feature films. The Movieclips player can be embedded in social networks as Facebook and MySpace, and shared on blogs, Twitter and other personal websites, and used in PowerPoint presentations. In addition to searching by title or actor, the site provide additional search capabilities for dialogue, genre, action, occasion, theme, and mood and categories including best kiss, tearjerkers, birthdays, holidays, awkward moments, action moments, bad guys and fight scenes. Reuse of the clips requires registering with the site.

Moving Image Archive

  • A collection of moving images (i.e. films) that are in the public domain. Contains an eclectic variety of full length features, advertisements, speeches, and educational films.

National Film Board of Canada

  • This collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films and fiction. NFB showcases films that take a stand on issues of global importance that matter to Canadians—stories about the environment, human rights, international conflict. You must create a free account to access content. 

National Park Service B-Roll Video

  • Public domain video of some National Park Service sites including national parks, monuments, battlefields, and historic sites.

Open Video Project

  • A shared digital video collection.

Pop Tech

  • PopTech brings together a global community of innovators from many fields to share insights and work together to create lasting change.

P.O.V. Video

  • Provides a selection of full length films, short films, and lesson plan based clips from the acclaimed PBS documentary film series POV.

Public Resource Org

  • PublicResourceOrg helps channel the public domain by obtaining government videos and making them available online. 

ScienceCinema

  • Contains multimedia videos from the U.S. Department of Energy's scientific research.  The site uses state-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology allows the user to search for specific words and phrases spoken by the presenter in these video files. Enter a word or phrase in the search box and the results list will point to the precise snippets of the video where the term was spoken.

Smithsonian Institution - Collection Search Center 

  • Search over 6.4 million records with 536,000 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries.

SnagFilms

  • Watch full-length documentary films for free the arts and more.

TED | Talks

  • Ideas Worth Spreading. Ted Talks is a series of lectures by innovative leaders of their respective fields. These inspiring, thought provoking lectures touch on a boundless and diverse range of issues.

UCLA Preserved Silent Animation

  • The collection of animation at UCLA Film & Television Archive from the years 1930-1950. Included here are most of the Max Fleischer and Famous Studios Paramount subjects; the George Pal “Puppetoons”; the independent productions of Ub Iwerks; many of the Van Beuren “Rainbow Parade” shorts; a large number of Warner Bros. cartoons; and a recent acquisition of “Terrytoons” still being sorted through.

UMass Lowell Home Movie Archive

  • In collaboration with Prof. Chad Montrie (History), the Digital Services Center has developed an archive of local home movies -  the UMass Lowell Home Movie archive. This archive currently houses home movies from over 100+ families from the Merrimack Valley or UMass Lowell community. Original 8mm and 16mm film footage has converted to digital .mov video files as well as DVD. This footage has been used by students as part of their course assignments. We are regularly contacted by outside professional film companies looking to purchase footage for commercial use.

Wellcome Film: Digitizing Medical History 

  • Online collection of moving images on 20th-century healthcare and medicine. Over 450 titles - 100 hours of historical film and video - have been transferred and are freely available under Creative Commons licenses.

WGBH Lab 

  • Categorized stock video clips from WGBH TV, this collection contains tons of rights-free archival footage perfect for creating mashups or short videos.

WGBH Open Vault 

  • Provides online access to unique and historical content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. The site contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning.