Work Environment

Endnote

ENDNOTE

EndNote is citation manager. It helps you cite your sources and create bibliographies.

Slides from Library Class

Library Presentation

Basic Information

There are a number of sources available on the Library Web page which can be searched for Work Environment topics.

All University databases are accessible from home for current students but you must Login remotely to access them. Your login is your current UML email address and password.

 

SFS Information

SciFinder Scholar consists of the complete Chemical Abstracts Service database from 1907- and the complete Medline database, from 1950-. Newest additions include millions of spectra, and records from chemical literature before 1907. UMASS Lowell Libraries provides SciFinder Web access for current students, faculty and staff in the Library, anywhere on campus and at home, provided they have properly registered for an account.
For help on searching SFS web, check out the tutorials provided by the Chemical Abstracts Service, or contact
Margaret Manion, Science and Engineering Librarian.
SciFinder Scholar is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week except for Sunday mornings.  Please remember to read the conditions statement when logging on and abide by the limits on the number of records. Because of heavy use, please remember to log out completely and properly from SFS, otherwise a port will be blocked for up to 20 minutes.

 

Important Resources

Important Resources:

E-journals

We have made it as easy as possible for you to find out if we have an electronic version of a journal.  When you are in a database, look for the Check 360 Link for Text that you will find after every citation.  This service will automatically check for the presence of full text and if available, will link you directly to the text.

If 360Link says we do not have the journal, you may order it on Interlibrary Loan.  You may do this directly from the 360Link page, by logging into your ILLiad account.  The citation will populate the request form, and ILLiad will know who you are.  Proofread the citation for accuracy and make the request.  ILL requests are delivered electronically to you, usually within 2-3 days.

SFS Registration

Use this link to set up your own account on SciFinder Scholar.  Please read the instructions on the page regarding the password that you use.  You must set up your account while on campus.

Database searching

Each of our major vendors (Ebsco, ProQuest, CSA) allow you to search as many databases as you wish to with one search statement. Answers are automatically checked for duplicates and the final list has all unique citations.