Disability Topics

Do you know ....

    Linksource- Link found with each citation in our journal databases that will tell you if the article is                                        available full text or not. If it is available, there will be a link to the full text; if not available, there will be link to request it via interlibrary loan.

abstract- A short summary or synopsis. Often found in subscription databases, providing a description of
       the content of the original source.  

academic integrity- The honest and responsible pursuit of scholarship and learning. 

academic research-The complex, investigative research that students produce in college.

annotated bibliography- A listing of the resources consulted (a bibliography) for a paper or project that
                                    includes a summary of each item.  

APA- Abbreviation for the style guide used by the American Psychological Association; used most commonly
        in documenting research in social sciences and humanities.  

bibliography-A list of works a writer creates for background, further reading or listing of sources used. See
                   also "Reference." 

citation- A quoting of an authoritative source for substantiation. A source so cited; a quotation. 1 
             This often includes the  information necessary to relocate the item such as
              AUTHOR, TITLE, SOURCE, PUBLISHER, DATE and sometimes PAGES.

content- The subject matter of a written work, such as a book or magazine. The substantive or meaningful
              part. The meaning or significance of a literary or artistic work. 1

copyright laws- Rights granted by statute to the author or originator of certain literary, artistic, and
                       musical productions whereby for a limited period of time he or she controls the use of
                       the product. 2

database- A collection of data arranged for ease and speed of search and retrieval. A subscription
                database requires payment for access. 1

electronic or online resources- Research resources that are available in digital format.

evidence- A thing or things helpful in forming a conclusion or judgment. The proof or argument that compels
               the mind to accept an assertion as true. 1

footnote- A note placed at the bottom of a page of a book or manuscript that comments on or cites a
               reference for a designated part of the text. Used in the Chicago/Turabian citation style. 1

intellectual property- A product of human intellect that has commercial value, including copyrighted
                                property such as literary or artistic works, and ideational property, such as patents,
                                appellations of origin, business methods, and industrial processes. 3

intelibrary loan- The process of obtaining books or journals articles from other libraries when those items are
                        not available from a local library.

Internet- International computer network linking together thousands of individual networks at military and
              government agencies, educational institutions, nonprofit organizations, industrial and financial
              corporations of all sizes, and commercial enterprises (called gateways or service providers)
              that enable individuals to access the network.2


journal- A scholarly or professional periodical containing articles on a particular subject. 1 Journals are often
             peer reviewed.    Journal of Nursing, Journal of Experimental Psychology, etc.

Library Catalog - A searchable database of a library's collection of books, music scores, DVD's, etc.

magzine- A popular type periodical containing articles. Magazines are not scholarly and not peer reviewed.
               Time, Newsweek, Popular Mechanics, etc.

MLA- Abbreviation for the style guide of the Modern Language Association, used commonly in documenting
        sources for literature, languages and the arts.

outline (or outlining)- A format that gives the main features or various aspects of 1

paraphrase- A restatement of a text or passage in another form or other words, often to clarify meaning. 1

parenthetical citations - Set off within or as if within parentheses; qualifying or explanatory: a
                                    parenthetical remark. Also, using or containing parentheses. 1

plagiarism- The unethical quotation of another's words or the unethical use of another's ideas or data in
                  such a way as to let the world conclude they are your own words, ideas, or data. 3

primary sources- The original sources of materials. Resources that are not derived from something else.
                          These can include interviews, eyewitness accounts, diaries, and original works of art.4

print sources, print resources- Sources that appear in a printed(paper) format. Not electronic. 

quote, quotation- To repeat or copy the words of (another), with acknowledgment of the source. 1

record- A collection of information on one item that becomes one part of a larger database,
            as in a dictionary, library catalog or subscription database. This can include the title, author,
            date of publication, subject, and/or call number of a specific printed or electronic resource. 






 

 

 

 

refereed or peer reviewed - a work that prior to being published has been reviewed by experts in the
                           field for accuracy. This means that informaton in peer reviewed materials are more reliable.

reference- A note in a publication referring the reader to another passage or source. A mark or footnote
                used to direct a reader elsewhere for additional information. 1

reference list- A list of references used for information to write a book, journal or paper.
                     This is also called a bibliography. 

search engine- A software program that searches a database and gathers and reports information that
                       contains or is related to specified terms. Also a website whose primary function is providing
                       a search engine for gathering and reporting information available on the Internet or a
                       portion of the Internet. 1

secondary sources- Derived from what is primary or original; writings, discussions or analysis of a primary
                             source such as a novel or poem. 1

source- A person or document that supplies information1

style guide- A set of rules for formatting and presenting information in written work; most commonly used
                  in undergraduate curriculum are MLA and APA style guides

URL (Uniform Resource Locator) -address for a Web site usually in the form: http://library.uml.edu.



--------------------------------------
Source:
1. The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition (2000) Boston: Houghton Mifflin Company. Retrieved June 20, 2009 from http://www.bartleby.com/61/

2. The Columbia Encyclopedia, 6th ed. (2002). New York: Columbia University Press. Retrieved June 20, 2009 from www.bartleby.com/65/

3. Wilson, K. G. (1993). The Columbia Guide to Standard American English. New York: Columbia University Press. Retrieved June 20, 2009 from http://www.bartleby.com/68/

4. Roget's II: The New Thesaurus, 3rd ed. (1995). Boston: Houghton Mifflin. Retrieved June 20, 2009 from http://www.bartleby.com/62/