Scientific Communication and Writing
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Resource guide from Biosis for free biological information.
The best free site for locating published medical information. PMC is the clearinghouse for getting free copies of government sponsored research.
Focus on genetics information, from Nature.
International Stem Cell Registry
Searchable database for all stem cell lines, worldwide.
Includes comprehensive information on each line and references to the literature.
Developed and maintained by UMASS Worcester.
Tree of Life
Use to find information on evolutionary history.
Complete works of Charles Darwin
All of Darwin's books, including notebooks, handwritten manuscripts, and letters. Ancillary material such as secondary sources, reviews, obituaries and specimen descriptions.
Comprehensive site for Darwin material.
Darwin Correspondence Project
Archive of letters from over 2,000 people with whom Darwin corresponded. Over 14,500 letters included, with at minimum, a summary of the contents. Over 5000 have been electronically transcribed.
Great site for material on all those who corresponded with Charles Darwin.
OMIM Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man
Government database with information on human genetics.
Human Genome Information
Government site with information and results on the Human Genome Project.
Best Biotechnology Sites
Best of the Web in biotechnology from GenEng News.
The place to search for enzyme information.
Great site for searching out enzyme names and information.
good site for checking out nucleic acid information.
Good site for tracking down any information on proteins or other macromolecular structures.
Good site for short clips of actual living cells.
good site for information on drugs and pharmaceuticals.
USDA site for information on any plant.
Details on all flowering plants with classification information.
Descriptions, pictures and information on all parasitic plants.
Government site with up to date information on any US endangered species.
Great site for any information on Marine biology.
Great site for information on neuroscience and related fields.
Audobon Birds of North America
Classic Audobon bird books now free online and searchable from University of Pittsburgh.
Bird information from the well-known expert on all things about birds and birding.
Government gateway to free websites on genomes, genetics, proteins and dna sequences.
The Cell: an Image Library
Interactive site displaying everything about cells.
University of Massachusetts Lowell
84 University Avenue
Lowell, MA 01854
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries >>