Physics

Main Physics databases

  • Compendex: Engineering database with much good material in fields related to physics. Includes good indexing for IEEE materials. Links available via Engineering Direct to full content of Elsevier journals.
  • IEEE Explore (IEL):This service indexes all IEEE journals, conference proceedings and IEEE standards.  We have FULL-TEXT access to everything in this database. Backfiles are being added by the publisher and will be part of our subscription.
  • American Physical Society Journals:  Current issues of all APS journals.
  • American Physical Society PROLA Archive Access to backfile (-2003) of all APS journals
  • Dissertation Abstracts covers nearly all dissertations done in this country.  Our Library has an agreement allowing you to download a complete UML or UMass Amherst dissertation, if available.[1998-]
  • Institute of Physics journals:   Full-text current access to all  IOP journals and complete backfiles.
  • OpticsInfoBase:  complete file of all journals from the Optical Society of America.
  • ScienceDirect This service offers FULL CONTENT of 1800 Elsevier Press journals, from 1995- 
  • Springer Journals  Access to over 1100 journals from Springer Verlag in all areas, 1997-
  • Wiley Journals  Full content of nearly 800 Wiley journals, 1996- from all fields of science 

Additional Physics databases

  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe this service provides good information on companies and business information.
  • American Chemical Society Journals. FULL CONTENT for all titles from the American Chemical Society, including Journal of Physical Chemistry A, B & C; Complete backfiles for all titles are included
  • Annual Reviews FULL CONTENT to all of these titles [1996-] which contain excellent review articles
  • Knovel Database containing over 900 handbooks in science and engineering, searchable by keywords or by property.  Also offers a number of titles with interactive graphing capabilities.
  •  Infotrac This general service has a few good full-text journals which are unavailable elsewhere