History

Library Catalog

 
 
 

Search for an item in libraries near you:

WorldCat.org >>

Interlibrary Loan

If a book is not available at Lowell, search and request it through Interlibrary Loan.

* First time users must register. Otherwise login with the username and password you created then you first registered.

Books

Search the UML Library Catalog to discover books. Books available at UMass Lowell will appear first. Books from other libraries may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Indexes to Journal Articles

Online Books

Full Texts - Ancient

Duke Papyrus Archive
The Duke Papyrus Archive provides electronic access to texts about and images of nearly 1400 papyri from ancient Egypt. The target audience includes: papyrologists, ancient historians, archaeologists, biblical scholars, classicists, Coptologists, Egyptologists, students of literature and religion and all others interested in ancient Egypt.


Ancient History Sourcebook

Princeton/Stanford Working Papers in the Classics
Papyrus Archive (University of Michigan)

Full Texts - Medieval

Catalog of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts


DScriptorium
DScriptorium is devoted to collecting, storing and distributing digital images of Medieval manuscripts (D is for Digital).

History of the Crusades
A History of the Crusades, published by the University of Wisconsin Press over a twenty year period beginning in 1969, was intended to serve as a collaborative and comprehensive treatment of the topic, ranging in time from the first 100 years of the Crusades to their ultimate impact on the histories of the Near East and Europe. The work is comprised of six volumes, each of which is included here in its entirety.

Vroma Project
The VRoma Project is first and foremost a community of scholars, both teachers and students, who create online resources for teaching about the Latin language and ancient Roman culture.

Dictionaries, etc.

Gaelic Etymological Dictionary
1st edition - 1896
2nd edition (revised) - 1911
Photolitho Reprint of 1911 edition - 1982

Greek-English Dictionary

Lexicon of Classical Greek
Perseus 4.0, also known as the Perseus Hopper. Perseus is a non-profit enterprise, located in the Department of the Classics, Tufts University.

 

Images and Maps

Ancient City Of Athens
The Ancient City of Athens is a photographic archive of the archaeological and architectural remains of ancient Athens (Greece). It is intended primarily as a resource for students and teachers of classical art & archaeology, civilization, languages, and history as a supplement to their class lectures and reading assignments and as a source of images for use in term papers, projects, and presentations. We also hope that this site will be useful to all who have an interest in archaeological exploration and the recovery, interpretation, and preservation of the past.

Atlas of the Antiquity



Web Sites

Classical/ Medieval History
Alcove: An Annotated List of Reference Websites. Classical and Medieval History from the Library of Congress.


History Guide
Lectures on Ancient and Medieval European History.

Medieval Portal
This is a resource for students, researchers and lecturers providing a comprehensive guide to other Medieval history material available on the Internet. Arranged by subject areas, it is designed to complement the full text sources available through Medieval Sources online.

NetSerf
The internet connection for medieval resources.