This is the "Home" page of the "Biological Sciences - Graduate Students" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biological Sciences - Graduate Students   Tags: biology biological, engineering, sciences medicine biomedical  

List of important and necessary databases for graduate students in the biological sciences
Last Updated: Feb 19, 2016 URL: http://libguides.uml.edu/biologygrads Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Basic information

The UMASS Lowell Libraries provide many important databases that you need to know about to do proper research for your biology term papers.  These databases are available only to the UML campus and cost the Library over 2 million dollars per year.  Databases allow you to quickly and easily do searches on your topics, find full text journal articles and print or save them off for your own use, all in a matter of minutes.  All computers on campus offer access to all Library databases.  All Library computer labs offer Office2010 versions of Word, Excel, and Powerpoint.  The University does charge for printing ($0.10 per page) but also provides you with a printing allowance, on your ID. You will use your UML student ID  for your printing, and you may order and/or pick up print jobs at any print station on campus. You may bring a jump/thumb drive or CD to save your work, or you may email it to yourself if you prefer.

Connecting from Home

Library databases are also accessible to you from home, labs,  or dorm.  In the dorms or labs, connect to the Library Home Page and all databases are accessible.  From home,  connect to the Library home page and click on "Off-Campus Users Start Here".  Use your UML email username and password to connect. You are instantly verified and may use all databases. Your UML email username is your email address and your password is your email password.  If this does not work, try the last four digits of your UML ID.  If you continue to have a problem, email library_access@uml.edu and Library staff can check to be sure you are properly listed in our system.   

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Margaret Manion
Contact Info
University of Massachusetts Lowell
Lydon Library
rm 301
84 University Avenue
Lowell, MA 01854
Send Email
Subjects:
engineering
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip