This research library guide offers information on databases, interlibrary loan, plagiarism, citation and other online resources.
A database is a collection of information on a website organized so you can conduct a search (by keyword, title, author, etc). The UML Library provides ccess to a multitude of databases for students. Sources include journal articles, books, conference papers, maps, government reports, etc.
The library catalog is the best place to start to look for articles, books and other media, in particular peer-reviewed articles from academic journals (for example, Nature).
To clarify, a database can be used to search for journals, which contain peer-reviewed articles, vital to references when writing a thesis or doing research.
Some databases provide full-text and some don't. If the database you're searching doesn't include full-text, use:
MEDLINE, created by the National Library of Medicine, contains over 4 million records covering a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. It uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
The Merck Index Online is the internationally recognized encyclopedia of chemical substances, including human and veterinary drugs, biologicals and natural products. It contains more than 10,000 monographs, 32 supplemental tables and 450 Organic Name Reactions. The information provided includes chemical, common and generic names, trademarks and their associated companies, CAS Registry Numbers, molecular formulas and weights, physical and toxicity data, therapeutic and commercial uses, chemical structures and selected literature references for each substance. Compounds are indexed by Name, Formulae, CAS Registry Number and Therapeutic Category/Biological Activity.