This is the "Background" page of the "Assessment of Reading and Language Disorders" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Assessment of Reading and Language Disorders  

Last Updated: Oct 15, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uml.edu/assessment_of_reading_and_language_disorders Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Background Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Full-Text Reference Books from Literati

Need more background information about Assessment of Reading and Language Disabilities but don't have time to go to the library? UMass Lowell Libraries gives you access to these full-text electronic reference books through Literati. Click here for a short tutorial about what else is available through Literati.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults - Cecil R. Reynolds and Elaine Fletcher-Janzen
Includes the latest information about new legislation and guidelines. In addition, this comprehensive resource features new biographies of important figures in special education, school psychology, and neuropsychology and reviews of new tests and curricula that have been developed since 1999. Unique in focus, the Encyclopedia of Special Education addresses issues of importance ranging from theory to practice and is a critical reference for researchers as well as those working in the special education field.

Cover Art
International Handbook of Giftedness and Talent
Provides a comprehensive review and critical synthesis of significant theory; a unique cross-national perspective; significant contributions from scholars working in related fields; an increased focus on empirically supported scholarship; and is arranged for quick and easy reference.

Cover Art
Key Concepts in Education
Provides students with essential themes, topics and expressions that Education students are likely to encounter, both during their courses and beyond in professional practice.

Cover Art
Learning in Adulthood: A Comprehensive Guide - Sharan B. Merriam, Rosemary S. Caffarella, and Lisa M. Baumgartner
The authors have gathered the seminal work and most current thinking on adult learning into one work. Addresses a wide range of topics including: Who are adult learners? How do adults learn? Why are adults involved in learning activities? How does the social context shape the learning that adults are engaged in? How does aging affect learning ability?

Cover Art
Springer International Handbooks of Education: International Handbook of Educational Evaluation
An invaluable and unique reference work for evaluation scholars and specialists, educators, policymakers, graduate students in evaluation and education, administrators and other school personnel, as well as personnel in funding organizations.

 

Looking for eBooks about Assessment of Reading and Language Disabilities? Search here!

 

Looking for articles about Assessment of Reading and Language Disabilities? Search here!

Discovery Service
Limit Your Results

Assessment

  • Communication Assessment
    From Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine: This chapter outlines how a speech and language therapist might assess communication disability. MORE
  • Johnston Informal Reading Inventory
    From Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults: The Johnston Informal Reading Inventory (JIRI; Johnston, 1982) is an informal reading scale that assesses understanding of antonyms and synonyms, and silent reading comprehension skills. MORE
  • Language Assessment
    From Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults: A language assessment is an evaluation of three general realms in communication competence of an individual: speech, language, and hearing (Venn, 2004). MORE
  • Language Comprehension, Methodologies for Studying
    From Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science: Language comprehension processes are those by which people extract meaning from texts, whether written or spoken. Researchers have developed a variety of experimental methodologies in order to study these processes. MORE
  • Neuropsychological Assessment in Schools
    From Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology: Increasingly, school-aged children and adolescents have cognitive processing deficits (e.g., memory, learning, and attention) or behavioral/emotional deficits (e.g., autism, mood disorders, anxiety, and conduct problems) that are a result of known or suspected neurological conditions. MORE
  • Neuropsychological assessment of learning and memory
    From Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine: With over 100 different theorized types of memory in existence (Tulving, 2002) it is no wonder that the assessment of learning and memory can be quite complex. MORE
  • Psychometric Principles in Student Assessment
    From Springer International Handbooks of Education: International Handbook of Educational Evaluation: "Validity, reliability, comparability, and fairness are not just measurement issues, but social values that have meaning and force outside of measurement wherever evaluative judgments and decisions are made" (Messick, 1994, p. 2). MORE
  • Reading Disabilities (Assessment)
    From The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science: Dyslexia is a common learning disability that affects the ease with which children learn to read and spell. Poor phoneme awareness is believed to make the major contribution to this difficulty learning to read and spell. MORE
  • Writing Assessment
    From Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults: Competence in writing requires the mastery and automation of a vast array of skills. To ensure that these skills develop in an efficient and efficacious manner, it is generally believed that assessment should be included as an integral part of disabled students’ writing programs. MORE
  • Dynamic Assessment
    From The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science: Dynamic assessment refers to an approach to conducting psychoeducational or speech and language assessments that most characteristically involves interacting with the client during the course of the assessment and using the responsiveness of the client to this interaction as a primary source of information. MORE

Reading and Reading Disorders

  • Dyslexia
    From Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development: Although the majority of children learn to read without difficulty, a substantial minority (between 4 and 10 percent) have significant problems. MORE
  • Reading and Writing
    From The Brain Book: An illustrated guide to its structure, function and disorders: Our ability to speak and to understand the spoken word has evolved so that our brains are wired for speech. Reading and writing, however, do not naturally come to us in the same way. MORE
  • Reading Disorders
    From Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults : It is an understatement to say that the process of reading is complex. The variety of models of the reading process that have been created serves as evidence of this complexity. MORE
  • Reading and Dyslexias
    From Encyclopedia of the Human Genome: Specific reading disability (dyslexia) is an unexplained difficulty in learning to read and spell despite adequate intelligence and opportunity and without demonstrable sensory or neurologic handicap. MORE
  • Comprehension
    From Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts: Throughout this volume, noted researchers have addressed various aspects of literacy. There have been discussions about learner characteristics, text characteristics, and literacy processes such as phonemic awareness and phonics, vocabulary, fluency, writing, and oral language development. MORE

Specific Tests

  • Test of Reading Comprehension - Third Edition
    From Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults: The Test of Reading Comprehension–Third Edition (TORC-3; Brown, Hammill, & Wiederholt, 1995) comprises eight subtests grouped under either the General Reading Comprehension Core, which yields a Reading Comprehension Quotient, or the Diagnostic Supplements. MORE
  • Illinois Test of Psycholinguistic Abilities - Third Edition
    From Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults: The Illinois Test of Psycholinguistic Abilities–Third Edition (ITPA-3; Hammill, Mather, & Roberts, 2001) measures spoken and written language. MORE

Language and Language Disorders

  • The Language Areas
    From The Brain Book: An illustrated guide to its structure, function and disorders: The human brain differs from that of other species by having a region that is dedicated to language alone. In the vast majority of people, this is situated in the left hemisphere, but in about 20 percent of left-handed people, it is in the right hemisphere. MORE
  • Language Disorders
    From Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults: Depending on the age group studied and criteria used, language disorders affect up to 12 percent of children 3 to 21 years of age (Clegg, Hollis, Mawhood, & Rutter, 2005). MORE
  • Language Processing
    From Encyclopedia of the Human Brain: Current models of language processing subdivide functions such as reading, speaking, and auditory comprehension into many different, semiindependent components, which are sometimes called modules or processors. MORE
  • Neuropsychological Disorders of Writing
    From Encyclopedia of the Human Brain: Having identified the major functional components of the normal writing process, we now turn our attention to clinical disorders of writing in patients with neurological damage. MORE

Speech and Speech Disorders

  • Stuttering: Topic Page
    Or stammering, speech disorder marked by hesitation and inability to enunciate consonants without spasmodic repetition. MORE
  • Articulation Disorders
    From Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults: Articulation involves the study of (1) the phonemes in a given language, (2) the manner in which they are produced, (3) the order in which they are acquired by the members of a culture, and (4) the disorders which may occur. MORE

Related Topics

  • Behavioral and learning disorders
    From Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development: Non-autism behavior and learning disorders are common in the general population of children. MORE
  • Identification of Gifted and Talented Youth for Educational Programs
    From International Handbook of Giftedness and Talent: Gifted and talented youth are major national resources. With supportive and nurturing parents and high level and challenging educational services they can become the professionals, artists, care givers, and leaders of our nation and the world. MORE
  • Intelligence Assessment
    From Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology: In this article, intelligence is first defined and the structure of human cognitive abilities is described. Second, well-known data regarding the reliability and validity of intelligence measures are presented. MORE
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip