- Women: Archives Library Information Center (National Archives)
The struggle for women to gain acceptance, recognition and equal rights in society has been a long process. In recognition of the contributions of American women, ALIC presents a listing of web sites relevant to women in the United States.
- Immigration to the US, 1789-1930
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930, is a web-based collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression. Concentrating heavily on the 19th century, Immigration to the US includes over 400,000 pages from more than 2,200 books, pamphlets, and serials, over 9,600 pages from manuscript and archival collections, and more than 7,800
- Immigration History Research Center : University of Minnesota
The Immigration History Research Center promotes interdisciplinary research on international migration, develops archives documenting immigrant and refugee life, especially in the U.S., and makes specialized scholarship accessible to students, teachers, and the public.
- The Black Past: Remembered and Reclaimed
The Online Reference Guide to African American History
This 13,000 page reference center is dedicated to providing information to the general public on African American history and on the history of the more than one billion people of African ancestry around the world.
- A Guide to World War II Materials (Library of Congress)
World War II (1939-1945) was the largest international event of the twentieth century and one of the major turning points in U.S. and world history. In the six years between the invasion of Poland and the bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaki, the world was caught up in the most destructive war in history. Armed forces of more than seventeen million fought on the land, in the air, and on the sea. The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide and diverse selection of materials relating to this period.
This guide gathers in one place links to World War II related resources throughout the Library of Congress Web site.
- Military Resources: Vietnam War (National Archives)
Links to major government sites dealing with the Vietnam War.
- Railroads and the Making of Modern America
This project seeks to document and represent the rapid and far-reaching social effects of railroads and to explore the transformation of the United States to modern ideas, institutions, and practices in the nineteenth century. The railroad was the first and most complex national system in American history. The records of this system's colossal growth are as diverse as they are voluminous, ranging from massive and detailed corporate records to editorials, cartoons, poetry, songs, and even abandoned track lines in today's landscape. While many histories have addressed the railroad's importance, we need a new approach that takes account of how the railroad triggered unexpected outcomes in American society and how the system became wedded into the fabric of modern America. "Railroads and the Making of Modern America" seeks to use the digital medium to investigate, represent, and analyze this social change and document episodes of the railroad's social consequence.
- University of Massachusetts Center for Lowell History
The Center for Lowell History [special collections and archives] supports the University of Massachusetts Lowell’s mission of teaching, research, and community engagement. The collections focus on historic and contemporary issues of Lowell (including: industrialization, textile technology, immigration, social history, regional history, labor history, women's history, and environmental history).
- UML Library Catalog (Books)
This is the gateway to all of the book holdings at UMass Lowell, and well as other libraries. Both traditional paper books and viewable ebooks are located here. If you know a book's author and title just enter the author's last name and part of the title in the search box (i.e., "rowling azkaban")
- Credo Reference Encyclopedias
An intelligent alternative to Wikipedia, Credo allows to search hundreds of specialized encyclopedias.
- America: History and Life
This will be your most important source of scholarly and popular articles on U.S. History. You can limit your search requests to a particular period (i.e., 1929-1939), something that isn't possible with other databases.
Another good source for scholarly historical articles
- Project MUSE
Another sources of scholarly historical articles.
In addition to document collections and papers that you can locate in the UML Library Catalog, these are other possible sources:
- American Periodical Series
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
- Historical New York Times
Complete coverage of the nation's leading daily newspaper 1851-2010.
- Internet Archive
Another good source for full-text pre-1923 books.
- U.S. Supreme Court Cases
Full text of all U.S. Supreme Court cases
- The Avalon Project (Yale Law School)
The Avalon Project mounts digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. We do not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text.
- American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
- Civil Rights Digital Library
Primary sources from Civil Rights Movement.
- American Presidency Project
Thousands of documents relating to U.S Presidents, most importantly The Papers of the Presidents.
- Foreign Relations of the United States: 1945-
The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
- Foreign Relations of the United States: 1861-1945
The Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. The series is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian and printed volumes are available from the Government Printing Office.
The AdAccess Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. AdAccess concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies.