- Immigration to the US, 1789-1930
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930, is a web-based collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression. Concentrating heavily on the 19th century, Immigration to the US includes over 400,000 pages from more than 2,200 books, pamphlets, and serials, over 9,600 pages from manuscript and archival collections, and more than 7,800
- Immigration History Research Center : University of Minnesota
The Immigration History Research Center promotes interdisciplinary research on international migration, develops archives documenting immigrant and refugee life, especially in the U.S., and makes specialized scholarship accessible to students, teachers, and the public.
- The Black Past: Remembered and Reclaimed
The Online Reference Guide to African American History
This 13,000 page reference center is dedicated to providing information to the general public on African American history and on the history of the more than one billion people of African ancestry around the world.
- America: History and Life
This will be your most important source of scholarly and popular articles on U.S. History. You can limit your search requests to a particular period (i.e., 1929-1939), something that isn't possible with other databases.
Another good source for scholarly historical articles
In addition to document collections and papers that you can locate in the UML Library Catalog, these are other possible sources:
- American Periodical Series
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
- Historical New York Times
Complete coverage of the nation's leading daily newspaper 1851-2010.
- American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
- The Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War
The Valley Project details life in two American communities in Virginia and Pennsylvania during the Civil War. In this digital archive you may explore thousands of original letters and diaries, newspapers and speeches, census and church records.
- The Plymouth Colony Archive Project
This Plymouth Colony Archive presents a collection of fully searchable texts, including: court records, colony laws, seventeenth century journals and memoirs, probate inventories, wills, town plans, maps, and fort plans; research and seminar analyses of numerous topics; biographical profiles of selected colonists; and architectural, archaeological and material culture studies.