This is the "Home" page of the "UML Libraries' Digital Repositories" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

UML Libraries' Digital Repositories  

Last Updated: Nov 16, 2015 URL: http://libguides.uml.edu/UMLrepositories Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Contact

For more information about the digital repositories at UMass Lowell Libraries, please contact Joseph Fishe:

Profile Image
Joseph Fisher (retired)
 

UML Libraries' Digital Repositories

UMass Lowell Libraries established two publically-accessible digital repositories during the summer of 2014: 

         Digital Initiatives (http://libhost.uml.edu)

Dedicated to digitized collections from the archives at the Center for Lowell History and from regional collaborators. 

      Digital Scholarship (http://libspace.uml.edu)

Focused on published scholarly work and associated research materials created by UMass Lowell faculty, students and staff.

 

 

Digital Initiatives

The Digital Initiatives repository is dedicated to the public accessibility of digitized materials from UMass Lowell Libraries' special collections at the Center for Lowell History and related collections from regional partners with which the Digital Initiatives team has collaborated, such as the Tewksbury Public Health Museum.

The DI Repository currently contains the Public Health Museum's Tewksbury Almshouse Collection, selections from the Lowell Historical Society's Stereoview collection, and reports from the Lowell Cultural Resources Inventory and Historical and Architectural Survey. Soon to be added will be approximately 10,000 records from the Paul E. Tsongas Congressional Collection.

Omeka logo

 

 

This repository uses the Omeka platform, an open source content management system designed specifically for hosting digital collections. Omeka is a creation of the the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University. Since it is freely available and relatively easy to install and use, Omeka is broadly utilized worldwide by many cultural-heritage organizations, including the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

 

Digital Scholarship

The Digital Scholarship repository is focused on gathering together and making publicly accessible published scholarly work and associated research materials produced by faculty, students, and staff at UMass Lowell. Currently the repository contains over 40 peer-reviewed articles published by UML faculty in open-access journals. Another 50 plus articles will soon be added. 

Other materials appropriate for this type of repository are any scholarship-associated documentation, such as derived from research and grant projects,  journal artcle preprints postprints (so long as permission is provided by the publisher), and electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) or other similar types of significant student work.

DSpace logo

This repository uses the DSpace open-source platform, a software package originally designed by MIT Libraries for the specific purpose of collecting, preserving, and providing public access to research materials produced at the university. Released in 2002 and distributed for free, it quickly became widely used as eventually most university libraries established their own institutional repository services. 

UMass Lowell Libraries contracts with DuraSpace, the nonprofit organization formed in 2009 to oversee DSpace product development and provide user services, such as managing hosted installations of DSpace, which UML utilizes.  

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip