Prof. Elizabeth Herbin-Triant
- Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database has information on more than 35,000 slave voyages that forcibly embarked over 12 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. It offers researchers, students and the general public a chance to rediscover the reality of one of the largest forced movements of peoples in world history.
- The Church in the Southern Black Community
"The Church in the Southern Black Community" collects autobiographies, biographies, church documents, sermons, histories, encyclopedias, and other published materials. These texts present a collected history of the way Southern African Americans experienced and transformed Protestant Christianity into the central institution of community life. Coverage begins with white churches' conversion efforts, especially in the post-Revolutionary period, and depicts the tensions and contradictions between the egalitarian potential of evangelical Christianity and the realities of slavery. It focuses, through slave narratives and observations by other African American authors, on how the black community adapted evangelical Christianity, making it a metaphor for freedom, community, and personal survival.
Much better information than Wikipedia!:
- Biography in Context
Comprehensive sketches of prominent American political figures, writers, businessmen, clergymen, artists, architects, scientists, and other celebrated persons.
- UML Library Catalog (Books)
This is the gateway to all of the book holdings at UMass Lowell, and well as other libraries. Both traditional paper books and viewable ebooks are located here. If you know a book's author and title just enter the author's last name and part of the title in the search box (i.e., "rowling azkaban")
- Credo Reference Encyclopedias
An intelligent alternative to Wikipedia, Credo allows to search hundreds of specialized encyclopedias. Use for preliminary research.
- America: History and Life
This will be your most important source of scholarly and popular articles on U.S. History. You can limit your search requests to a particular period (i.e., 1929-1939), something that isn't possible with other databases.
- Historical Abstracts
This will be your most important source of scholarly and popular articles on non-U.S. History. You can limit your search requests to a particular period (i.e., 1700-1799), something that isn't possible with other databases.
Another good source for scholarly historical articles
- Project MUSE
Another sources of scholarly historical articles.
In addition to document collections and papers that you can locate in the UML Library Catalog, these are other possible sources:
- American Periodical Series
This database contains U.S. periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
- Historical New York Times
Complete coverage of the nation's leading daily newspaper 1851-2010.
- American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
- British History Online
British History Online is a digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800. We aim to support the learning, teaching and research of our users from around the world.
BHO was founded by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust in 2003. Our collection currently contains over 1,200 volumes and is always growing.
- Google Books
Full text of many books and other publications published before 1923.
- Internet Archive
Another collection of pre-1923 full text books.
- Documenting the American South: North American Slave Narratives
"North American Slave Narratives" collects books and articles that document the individual and collective story of African Americans struggling for freedom and human rights in the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries. This collection includes all the existing autobiographical narratives of fugitive and former slaves published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books in English up to 1920. Also included are many of the biographies of fugitive and former slaves and some significant fictionalized slave narratives published in English before 1920.
- Freedmen and Southern Society Project - Main Page
The Freedmen and Southern Society Project was established in 1976 to capture the essence of that revolution by depicting the drama of emancipation in the words of the participants: liberated slaves and defeated slaveholders, soldiers and civilians, common folk and the elite, Northerners and Southerners.
Drawing upon the rich resources of the National Archives of the United States, the project's editors pored over millions of documents, selecting some 50,000. They are presently transcribing, organizing, and annotating them to explain how black people traversed the bloody ground from slavery to freedom between the beginning of the Civil War in 1861 and the beginning of Radical Reconstruction in 1867. The documents vividly speak for themselves, and interpretive essays by the editors provide historical context.
- Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA) and assembled and microfilmed in 1941 as the seventeen-volume Slave Narratives: A Folk History of Slavery in the United States from Interviews with Former Slaves. This online collection is a joint presentation of the Manuscript and Prints and Photographs Divisions of the Library of Congress and includes more than 200 photographs from the Prints and Photographs Division that are now made available to the public for the first time. Born in Slavery was made possible by a major gift from the Citigroup Foundation.
- African American History: Primary Documents | The Black Past: Remembered and Reclaimed
Major documents that help explain the history of African America.