This is the "Home" page of the "Journal Impact Factors" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Sep 25, 2015 URL: http://libguides.uml.edu/JournalImpact Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Journal Impact Factors

While we don’t subscribe to the Web or Science or their Journal Citation Reports, here is a list of a few alternative sources for journal impact factors. 

Eigenfactor.org

Eigenfactor is a free & searchable database that covers the natural and social sciences and "also lists newsprint, PhD theses, popular magazines and more." The Eigenfactor is now included in the ISI product, Journal Citation Reports

The website includes an interactive mapping function that shows the relationship of branches of science to each other based on the size of the field and the citations generated by the journals of the field. Rather than the "soft" categories used in Journal Citation Reports, where a journal may be located in one or more categories, Eigenfactor uses a hard category where a journal can only fit in one discipline.

The website include several quick top ten lists in science, social science, university theses, newspapers, and magazines.

Journal-Ranking.com

This source ranks journals that are indexed by Science Citation Index. The website allows you to customize your ranking and is interactive

Google Scholar Metrics

Covers articles published between 2007 and July, 2013 and the metrics are based on citations from articles that were indexed in Google Scholar as of July 1, 2014. Further details on what is covered is here. Publications are ranked using the h-index, the h-core (which is a set of top cited h articles from a particular publication), and the h-median (which is the median of the h counts in a publication's h-core.) The ranked lists of journals are here. Use the broad categories on the left to drill down to more specific subject areas. Click on the h index for a particular publication to view the h core articles that were used to gauge the h index and then click on the articles to find who cited the articles. To view the Google Scholar metrics go here.

SCImago Journal & Country Rank

A free source that uses data from Elsevier's Scopus database and includes journal indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus database from 1996.  It does not include journal impact factors but does have a number of other indicators, including SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) and h-index, cites per document, etc.  Journals may be ranked by very broad subject areas, more specific subject categories, SJR, h-index, etc.

Instruction & Outreach Librarian

Profile Image
Donna A. Mullin; MBA, MILS
Logo - LinkedIn
Contact Info
University of Massachusetts Lowell
84 University Avenue
Lydon Library rm. 201
Lowell, MA 01854

ph. 978-934-4579
fax 978-934-3014
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Margaret Manion
Contact Info
University of Massachusetts Lowell
Lydon Library
rm 301
84 University Avenue
Lowell, MA 01854
Send Email
Subjects:
engineering

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mary Martynuk
Contact Info
University of Massachusetts Lowell, MA
Lydon Library
978-934-5522
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sara Marks
Contact Info
Phone: 978-934-4581
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip