The College of FAHSS, the Honors Program and the Library are sponsoring research co-ops for Honors Students for the Spring 2014 semester. These co-ops will provide our students an opportunity to assist librarians on current projects.
Selected librarian/student teams will receive 100 hours of student support at $10.00 per hour. Selection will be determined based on the educational benefit to the student (priority #1) and the research benefit to the librarian (priority #2).
The program is open to active Honors sophomores and juniors. All co-op students must present a poster or paper at the Spring Undergraduate Research Symposium describing their work.
How to Apply
To apply, please submit an application with the following information:
Cover sheet that includes the following:
Name of Librarian
Student name, ID, department, and GPA
Copy of librarian's CV and unofficial student transcript
2-3 paragraph description of the research project including detailed information about the specific responsibilities for the student, the educational benefit for the student and the research benefit for the librarian.
Supplemental information can include whether the research project has been funded, accepted by a peer-reviewed journal, to a conference, etc.
Applications are due December 1. Accepted students will be notified by December 15, 2013. All co-op work should be completed between January 1, 2014 and May 31, 2014.
Locks and Canals Drawings
College of Fine Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences
Selected Opportunities for your Co-op Project
Processing the Past: Archival and Digital Humanities
Using best practices in Library Science, Archives Management, and Digital Scholarship the Honors Student will assist in processing, re-housing, digitization, and providing public access. Also assist in promoting the collections through the Center for Lowell History website, Wikipedia, Facebook, and other social media.
Students may also create 2-3 minute overview videos for one or more of the special collections listed below.
You would work with Martha Mayo to create the initial draft of a script (i.e., short research narrative), choose the most appropriate and effective images and then work with Mitch Shuldman in Media to create the video. These videos would find a life on both the CLH and Library websites, but also be an effective way for the University to let the research community know about the unique special collections we have to offer. The Bucky Lew video could have as its goal an annual public showing at the Family Lew Community Impact Award given by Athletics.
Learning Objectives: Students would still engage in research, writing, revision along with learning new technology skills and using video as a scholarly communication tool, etc.
Martha Mayo suggests the following special collections because, not only do they have good stories and history, but they are visually rich.
If you are interested in submitting a proposal for a 100-hour Honors/FAHSS/Library Co-op, please email Mitch or Martha to test out your idea; they can help you shape the proposal too.
The Butler Ames Collection
Butler Ames (August 22,1871-November 6,1954) was a politician, engineer, soldier and businessman. He was the son of Adelbert Ames and Blanche Butler and grandson of Benjamin F. Butler and Sarah J. Hildreth. Born in Lowell, Ames attended the public schools and Phillips Exeter Academy in Exeter, New Hampshire, and graduated from the US Military Academy at West Point in 1894. He resigned from the US Army after appointment as second lieutenant to the Eleventh Regiment, United States Infantry; took a postgraduate course a MIT, and graduated in 1896 as a mechanical and electrical engineer.
He became a member of the Massachusetts House of Representative (1897-1899); elected as a Republican to the 58th Congree and to the four succeeding Congresses (1903-1913); was not a candidate for re-nomination in 1912; resumed manufacturing pursuits; president of US Cartridge Company, and treasurer of Heinze Electrical Company, Lowell; at time of death was treasurer and a director of Wamesit Power Company, Lowell; director of Union Land and Grazing Company, Colorado Springs and vice president and a director of Ames Textile, Lowell.
The George Poirier Collection
George Poirier opened George Photograph Studios on University Avenue, Lowell shortly after returning from World War II. Poirier specialize in documenting the special events in the lives and businesses of French Canadians families in the Pawtucketville and Centralville neighborhoods of Lowell. He was also retained by the University of Massachusetts Lowell as their photographer for many of special events. The Poirier Collection contains over 1 million prints and photographs.
From George Poirier’s Oral History “My first camera was a Univex Camera and it took six photos. I used to take pictures and I’d bring them to Brunelle’s Pharmacy on Moody Street in Lowell, in Pawtucketville, to be developed. I couldn’t afford it, so I left them there. And he used to send me cards that my pictures were ready, and if I didn’t pick them up they would destroy them. So I finally went, and I think the bill on the envelope for six pictures was something like thirty-four cents.”
The Textile Design Panels: these compelling panels are part of UMass Lowell's history.
From the 1897 Lowell Textile School Catalog: The close relation Decorative Art bears to the textile industry requires the organization of a Decorative Art Department. Special arrangements have been made to form classes in freehand drawing and decoration, for the purpose of giving the students general instruction in the theory and practice of decorative art. The school will thus fulfill the object of preparing the student in practical designing in any of the branches of decorative art, with special regard to fabrics.”
Building Lowell's Locks and Canals
The Art of the Draftsman: featuring the architectural and engineering drawings of the Proprietors of Locks and Canals. The proprietors of Locks and Canals on the Merrimack River was organized in 1821 to build an industrial textile complex that became the city of Lowell. From 1825-1848, its engineering responsibilities included the design and construction of mills, canals, textile machinery, turbines, and railroad locomotives. Throughout the nineteenth century this company experimented with mechanical and engineering designs, leading the nation in hydraulic engineering. The roles of the architect, designer, engineer, draftsman, and contractor were often filled by a single man.
The Locks and Canals Drawing Collection contains hundreds of detailed presentation drawings for client approval. Engineering drawings were, and are, relevant to the entire cycle of design, construction, and evaluation of a project. But there is much more to these drawings than practical applications. They are exciting because they are a medium for creation. They are about possibilities. They give form to uncertainties and struggle with what might be, bearing tidings of new event and ideas. And they are beautiful.
The Bucky Lew Story
Harry "Bucky" Lew (1884-1963) born in Lowell, Massachusetts, the son of William and Isabell Lew, was the first to integrate professional basketball in 1902. A member of an African-American family with a long history in Massachusetts, his great-great-grandfather, Barzillai Lew, served in the American Revolution. His great-great-aunt Lucy Lew and her husband Thomas Dalton were civil rights activists in 1840s segregated Boston. The home of his grandparents, Adrastus and Elizabeth Lew, was a station on the Underground Railroad. His father, William Lew, was a delegate to the 1891 Equal Rights Convention in Boston. Like generations of Lews, Bucky Lew was a talented musician, often playing the violin for his family and friends.
In 1902, he was recruited to join Lowell’s Pawtucketville Athletic Club "P.A.C." of the New England Professional Basketball League. For the next twenty years, Lew barnstormed around New England with teams he organized, and in 1926 when he played his final game in St. John's, Vermont, he was forty-two years old. That was 24 years before the Boston Celtics drafted Charles “Chuck” Cooper, the first African American for the NBA.
Benjamin F. Butler
Benjamin Franklin Butler moved to Lowell with his widowed mother, sister, and brother in 1828. He attended Lowell High School and Colby College and in 1840 began a successful law practice in Lowell. Active in the Democratic Party in the 1850s, he was elected to several terms in the Massachusetts Legislature. In 1860, convinced that war was eminent, Butler organized a volunteer regiment and in April 1861 was the first to respond to President Lincoln’s call for troops at the outbreak of the Civil War. After the Civil War, Butler was elected as a Radical Republican to four terms of Congress (1867-1875) and was appointed by Congress as one of the managers to conduct the 1868 impeachment of President Andrew Johnson. Elected Governor of Massachusetts in 1882, he was an unsuccessful candidate for President of the United States in 1884. Always controversial, Butler spent much of his life living and working in Lowell.
UML's Center for Lowell History houses extensive Butler Family Collections, including correspondence, speeches, publications, and photographs, as well as a large series of lively and colorful political cartoons and prints.
Other Potential Archival Topics
The Center for Lowell History houses many remarkable collections that you can consider working with, including the Boston and Lowell Railroad Collection, the Champagne Brothers Sheet Music Collection, the Foley Photograph Collection – Then and Now, the Kerouac Collection, the Knapp Collection [a Lowell Congressman], the Lowell Housing Authority Collection, the Merrimack Company Demolition Collection, the Middlesex Canal collection, and the Russell Photograph Collection.
We also suggest looking at topics that cross different collections. These include the Civil War, the Typhoid Epidemic, the Lawrence Manufacturing Company Office, and the Lowell Corporation Hospital [now University Crossing].
Students might want to focus on the history of specific Lowell neighborhoods, such as Belvidere, Centralville, Chapel Hill, Hale Howard, Highlands, Pawtucketville, and South Lowell.
Another approach would be to focus on the biography of specific indivuals, such as Alexander Cumnock, Richard Kitson, and Royal and Direxa Southwick.
The Media Center
Media South [x 44557]
Mitch Shuldman, MLS, Ed.D x44561
Head, Division of Media Services
John Callahan, MLS x44571
Rick Harvey x44558
Dave Ambrose x44557
The Center for Lowell History
The Center for Lowell History
Martha Mayo, Head x4998
Janine Whitcomb, Manager x44997
Roberta Otremba, Librarian x44997
Mitchell Shuldman, (MLS, Ed.D.) Librarian & Head of the Division of Media Services
Mitch has been a media librarian with the University for 32 years. He is a strong advocate for the academic use of technology to enhance teaching and learning. For the past nine years he has been working with faculty across all disciplines to adopt a broader vision of technology that includes the integration of hands-on digital media/video projects for students.
He is the creator of the Library’s Campus Voices website and co-creator (w/ Prof. Chad Montrie, History) of the UMass Lowell Home Movie Archives . His collaborative work with faculty was cited as part of the President's Honor Roll for Community Service-Learning (With Distinction) for 2009 and 2010. Most recently he collaborated with Prof. Archibald (English) supervising the students who created the Dickens in Lowell digital humanities project website and Virtual Walking Tour videos.
The Center for Lowell History was established in 1971 to assure the safekeeping, preservation, and availability for study and research of materials in unique subject areas, particularly those related to the Greater Lowell Area and the University of Massachusetts Lowell.
Located downtown in the Patrick J. Mogan Cultural Center, 40 French Street, the CLH is committed to the design and implementation of historical, educational, and cultural programs that link the University and the community in developing an economically strong and multi-culturally rich region.
Martha Mayo is passionate about history and the arts and serves on several local boards: Arts League of Lowell, City of Lowell Historic Board, Cultural Organization of Lowell [COOL], Friends of Merrimack Repertory Theater, Lowell Heritage Partnership, and Lowell Historical Society.