Hints: Use AND between different terms
Use OR between terms with similar meaning
Use * to retrieve all words with that root.
Chin* and (lying or truthfulness)
See a sample Discovery Search
See how background info gives you a head start in searching
- Sage Knowledge
Encyclopedias are one of a few sources that give you an overiew of a topic. You can learn enough to choose a specific aspect of a broad topic. You can also pick up key terms as well as author names to search in our catalog and article databases.
Once you've done a search, click on "Available to me" box on the left to see what we have via our subscription.
- CQ Researcher
contains hundreds of research reports on topics of social policy. Each report includes a chronology, charts, graphs, bibliography, & other overview materials. Browse reports or search by keyword.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
- Science in Context
Science in Context features authoritative information and detailed coverage of popular subjects. From earth science and life science, to space, technology, mathematics and science history and biography.
Pro/Con mission is to support critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, primarily pro-con format."
- MLA Formatting and Style Guide
This guide was produced by the Purdue Online Writing Lab. MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. This resource, updated to reflect the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th ed.) and the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing (3rd ed.), offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.