Chemical and Biological Engineering

Materials

If you find your search is limited by the resources available through the library you still have options. The interlibrary loan system is a useful tool for requesting access to an article which is not encompassed by the UMass Lowell Library subscriptions. Additionally, open source free information is readily available online - just be sure to verify your information! Always use reliable sources. 

Make sure to reach out to a librarian. Margaret Manion is the librarian engineering and science students should reach out to.

Be aware that memberships in professional societies can include access to additional databases. For instance, OneMine.org has an abundance of information  including full text papers from the Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS), the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineers (AIME) and more. UMass Lowell does not subscribe, however student members of partner societies such as the International Marine Minerals Society (which offers a low student membership rate) have access to all of the articles. 

Be careful never to pay to view or buy articles! The same articles are often cross-posted on other journals or can be accessed through interlibrary loan.

Databases

ProQuest can be used to search Engineered Materials Abstracts (a subsection of Cambridge Scientific Abstracts). It includes abstracts, full text articles and ebrary ebooks. 

Knovel Knovel can be used to search for relevant ebooks. By using the "Data Search" tool you can search for particular properties within hundreds of handbooks and scientific books.

Some other databases will be useful assets in your search for information. The following come highly recommended:

Compendex ( Engineering Village): Article citations in a all engineering fields, plus physics and robotics

Scifinder Scholar: Search chemical literature including journal articles, conference papers, chemical patents, and theses in chemistry and related fields