The course addresses the literature of America's immigrant and cultural groups and how it contributes to defining our national character.
In addition to document collections and papers that you can locate in the UML Library Catalog, these are other possible sources:
- American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
- MLA International Bibliography
This comprehensive literary database includes citations covering research in literature, linguistics, and folklore. Virtually all literary criticism can be found here on the works of any serious writer, poet, or playwright in all modern languages.
Coverage: 1980 - current
- Literature Resource Center
Three works: Contemporary Authors, offering biographical coverage of more than 124,000 writers; Contemporary Literary Criticism, featuring entries on authors; and Dictionary of Literary Biography, containing more than 11,700 biocritical essays on authors and their works written by academic scholars. Especially good source for biographical information on lesser-known authors.
- Literary Reference Center
This contains full text for 27,500 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism, 140,500 author biographies (including 20,000 in-depth bios), 350 literary journals, 535,000 book reviews, 54,000 classic and contemporary poems, 14,500 classic and contemporary short stories, 4,000 author interviews, 8,400 classic texts and much more.
- America: History and Life
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature for 1,700 journals covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
- Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts includes 75-120 word abstracts to journal articles and citations to books and dissertations. Every year over 20,000 new entries are added from over 1,700 journal titles published worldwide. Over 600,000 entries currently available. The Web version is updated monthly.
- Sociological Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.
- UML Library Catalog (Books)
This is the gateway to all of the book holdings at UMass Lowell, and well as other libraries. Both traditional paper books and viewable ebooks are located here. If you know a book's author and title just enter the author's last name and part of the title in the search box (i.e., "rowling azkaban")
- Credo Reference Encyclopedias
An intelligent alternative to Wikipedia, Credo allows to search hundreds of specialized encyclopedias.
- Google Books
Full text of many books published before 1923 and partial text or excerpts from most titles published since then.
- Internet Archive
Another good source for full-text pre-1923 books.